Hard Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2013, 02:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Unhappy Hard Drive

Bought a new HDD.Should receive today.Description said internal for PC. Nothing about mobile/laptop.But,dimensions are (did not catch it in time before ordering) smaller than my old HDD. I have the fear it will not work,except in maybe a mini or laptop. It is a Sata. I know you can not put a regular HDD in a laptop,would never fit. But,what about the other way around,as long as it was able to connect. In case they sent me the wrong HDD. I hope I am worrying for nothing.
__________________

KingmanRoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 02:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Default Re: Hard Drive

This is the description-Toshiba MQ01ABD MQ01ABD050 500 GB 2.5" Internal Hard Drive - OEM - SATA/300 - 5400 rpm - 8 MB Buffer
Product Features

Storage Capacity: 500 GB
Maximum External Data Transfer Rate: 384 MBps (3 Gbps)
Rotational Speed: 5400 rpm
Buffer: 8 MB
Drive Interface: SATA/300
SATA Pin: 7-pin
Form Factor: Internal
Drive Width: 2.5"
Height: 0.4"
Width: 2.8"
Depth: 3.9"
Weight (Approximate): 3.77 oz
Green Compliant: Yes
Green Compliance Certificate/Authority: RoHS
__________________

KingmanRoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 03:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
maddangerous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 260
Default

Yes, it can work in a desktop. As long as you have the appropriate connections on the motherboard and whatnot.

Now, if you do not have a 2.5 inch bay in your case, you can snag a 2.5 to 3.5 inch adapter. Which comes in a few forms, such as straight up adapter brackets, hdd silencing solutions, hdd cooling solutions, and I'm sure there is one i might be forgetting.

Back to compatibility, you have the necessary ports to connect this drive, yes?
__________________
"A man with a beard is a man who truly means business. The shirt and tie merely accentuate the sense of business provided by the beard" - Socrates
maddangerous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 03:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Default Re: Hard Drive

Connections are SATA,so,I guess it will be fine,as the new one is also a SATA.Thanks for the fast reply. The size(dimensions) is what threw me off.
KingmanRoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 04:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Hard Drive

You will either need the adapter mentioned or you can screw one of the screws in to mount it to the case without one. They are light so it would be enough if you aren't moving your PC around.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 04:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Default Re: Hard Drive

Cool.TY. I even have elect. tape and duct tape,lol.
KingmanRoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 06:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Hard Drive

Although there are over 1000 uses for duct tape and I'm sure every one works very well, be careful not to cover any air vents on the drive because it will not work properly if you do. If you happen to have the urge to make the inside of your pc more presentable than duct tape, there are choices of 2.5" to 3.5" mountings for about $5.
Hard Drive Accessories - Newegg.com
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 08:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Hard Drive

you may want to consider returning it anyways. most laptop hdd's, including this one. run at 5400 rpm, which youll probably notice a speed difference. youll also notice a speed difference for the better x1000 if you could exchange it for an ssd. difference being price tradeoff on volume.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 11:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Knowitall!
 
strollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: N. Calif.
Posts: 632
Default Re: Hard Drive

As was pointed out, that drive is intended for a laptop and runs at only 5400 rpm, a desktop drive will run more like 7200 rpm.

For a desktop computer, one of these drives would be a better choice: Newegg.com - Computer Hardware, Hard Drives, Internal Hard Drives, 400GB - 750GB

I personally like the WD Black drives, they're a little more expensive but worth it IMO.
strollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 02:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingman,Az
Posts: 108
Default Re: Hard Drive

Well,it will be here today so am stuck with it and for the duct tape,notice the "lol",was only joking on that.
__________________

KingmanRoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.