GTX 760 power? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2013, 09:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Default GTX 760 power?

Hopefully i word this correctly so it doesn't sound confusing. I recently purchased an EVGA gtx 760 to replace my EVGA gtx 285. It requires a 6 and 8pin connector. I only have two 6pins connectors so i plugged in one 6 pin. I don't have an 8pin connector so i grabbed the two 6pins into one 8pin adapter that came with the 760 and popped only one 6pin into it and just plugged it in. My question is will only having one 6pin the two 6pins into one 8pin adapter have a negative affect on my card or rig.
__________________

iRaizen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 09:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: GTX 760 power?

sooo...

Do you have a powered 6 pin and a powered 8 pin plugged into the graphics card?
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 09:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: GTX 760 power?

No he doesn't. I already answered his question in another thread.

He's trying to use 1 6pin, and another 6 pin in a dual 6 to 8pin adapter. In other words, only 150w of total power, instead of the required 225w.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 10:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: GTX 760 power?

The designers of the graphics card clearly have no idea what they were doing when they designed the card and made the minnimum power requirements of the card, two 6 pins instead of a 6 pin and a 8 pin should be fine...



/sarcasm


This would be like asking if you can put diesel fuel in your gasoline car...
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.