Graphics Card for watching TV - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2006, 03:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 67
Default Graphics Card for watching TV

I suppose theres no way to use two cards.

The problem I see in this is I could get a cheaper card that will be able to connect to cable to watch tv, but then my graphics for gaming wont be great correct?

I can't use two for the two different things can I?

What would be something comparable to a 9800 that I would be able to watch TV on my comp with?
__________________

Griggs2121 is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 04:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 300
Default

.... what are you trying to say?, you could watch online tv with any videocard just rember you need cable/broadband
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated SigSanta
Kazama is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 12:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

You can either get a all-in-wonder card to have both tv&good graphics or get a seperate video card and a tv-tuner card.
brinks is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 12:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 67
Default

Hmmm... I was unaware of a TV Tuner card. So I can keep my graphics card as is?

and Kazama?
Griggs2121 is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 01:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yes you can keep your graphics card. i was going to suggest the same thing as brinks.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 02:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...r+card&Ntk=all
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 03:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 67
Default

thanks!

Is there anything special I should be looking for with these? I see I can get one pretty cheap ($28)

I really want to be able to pause and record the TV. Im assuming thats just software, or does it matter which tunner I get?
Griggs2121 is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 04:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

probably not... mine was about $30 and works fine for what I need it for...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 09:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

for basic purposes it own't really make a difference. but if you are more picky there are lots of small features that only particular makes/models have that would make a difference. one thing to take into account is the software for the tuner. will the tuner be compatable with software other than what is included? or is the included software adequate for what you want to do?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 07:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Yep you want the tv tuner card. There are a few companies that make great ones. I use one and it picks up all of my cable channels.
__________________

__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.