Graphics Card And Ram Help!!? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2009, 02:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Graphics Card And Ram Help!!?

Those are the ones. Remember a psu upgrade is required to run any of those cards. If you do not have a brand preference go for the 5770. If you want nvidia then grab the gtx260.

If this fits in your budget it would be nice
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX 550W ATX12V V2.2 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies

The ultimate plan would be to grab a new motherboard, cpu and ram within a year to really appreciate the gpu.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 11-06-2009, 03:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 11
Default Re: Graphics Card And Ram Help!!?

can someone tell me if my cpu is dual core? its a amd athlon 64 x2 4200+. cause im thinking of replacing it with a better model. what cpu should i upgrade to without replacing the motherboard now?
__________________

bigshot514 is offline  
Old 11-07-2009, 04:42 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Graphics Card And Ram Help!!?

run cpuz to give us more info on your cpu and motherboard.

If it is a socket 939 then do not waste your money on a cpu upgrade. If it is am2 then there are some possibilities.

Honestly I would save the money for a new mb, cpu and ram.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 11-08-2009, 12:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 11
Default Re: Graphics Card And Ram Help!!?

i just opened my desktop for the first time to take a look and clean it. it was the dustyest thing i have ever seen. now my question is would a new/current motherboard and power supply fit in the casing? i took some photos. what you guys think?


theres more but i cant find the other ones
__________________

bigshot514 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Much RAM Does Your Graphics Card Really Need? Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 30 10-18-2009 03:39 AM
* Looking for new Graphics Card for my ASUS A8N32-SLI DELUXE 3800+ motherboard * Newbie05 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 06-22-2009 12:29 AM
Noobie - Anyone know what kind of Ram I take?! Kemperz System Upgrades 8 06-21-2009 11:59 PM
RAM and Graphics card help needed! Yozhik System Upgrades 2 06-13-2009 07:12 PM
Framerate: RAM or graphics card? lingojac PC Gaming 35 12-19-2008 02:47 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.