Graphics card question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2011, 07:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 48
Default Graphics card question

Okay so my desktop has the intel hd graphics and i was wondering if i have to replace it or can i just add a new graphics card in?
__________________

Tenacious is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 08:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Graphics card question

You just add it in to your system.

FYI the Intel gpu is acttually on the cpu so its not possible to replace it.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 08:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 48
Default Re: Graphics card question

So would it still be possible to replace my duel core processor for a quad core?
Tenacious is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 08:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Graphics card question

It depends on your board. What do you have?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 09:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 48
Default Re: Graphics card question

Well i opened my case and the only thing i could really see is Acer on the mother board so im not sure how to find out what kind it is
Tenacious is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 09:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Graphics card question

Use CPU-Z. Will tell you on the mainboard tab.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 09:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Graphics card question

As its a prebuilt, cpu-z won't beable to say yes or no... The bios may be locked to not allow certain cpus.

Get the motherboard model and start googling.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 09:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 48
Default Re: Graphics card question

Yea so i tryed that program and it didnt work it just froze, so i used aida 64 and i think this is my motherboardIntel® Workstation Board S5000XVN - Specifications
Tenacious is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 09:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Graphics card question

Thats a server class motherboard. I think maybe not the right board.

What cpu is in it?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 09:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 48
Default Re: Graphics card question

Intel core i-3 2100 cpu 3.1GHz
__________________

Tenacious is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics Card question wowmycompsucks System Upgrades 3 08-29-2011 11:03 PM
Graphics Card/ psu question rbloomer System Upgrades 7 04-18-2010 08:18 PM
question on graphics card ZackM System Upgrades 8 01-11-2007 10:32 PM
Question about this Video card: EVGA e-GeForce 6200 Graphics Card (256A8N341DX) mikepg New Systems | Building and Buying 11 03-15-2006 09:06 AM
Graphics Card...PCI or AGP question Tsiphon Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 12-18-2004 08:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.