Graphics Card question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2009, 05:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: Graphics Card question

LFC. You only have PCI slots, or do you have a PCI-E slot? I'm assuming you have a pre-built computer, so if you could post the make and model number of it, we can help you out more thoroughly.
__________________

__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 05:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Graphics Card question

Oh........ I read pci-expansion as express.

Wow, my bad... I've also asked for more specs though.

Atual;ly, no my 1st post is okay...........

What vista build doesn't have pci-e? Knew i was not dumb.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 10:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: Graphics Card question

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Oh........ I read pci-expansion as express.

Wow, my bad... I've also asked for more specs though.

Atual;ly, no my 1st post is okay...........

What vista build doesn't have pci-e? Knew i was not dumb.
I read it differently than you, so I just want to make sure that we're both getting the same information, so if he could post whether or not he has PCI-E or not would help a lot
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 03:47 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Re: Graphics Card question

I have a foxconn 45gm/45cm mobo. I looked at the pci slots and I think they are PCI 16 will these still fit? they are the right size but will they still work?
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 10:44 AM   #15 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Graphics Card question

Quote:
Originally Posted by LFCJohnSmith View Post
I have a foxconn 45gm/45cm mobo. I looked at the pci slots and I think they are PCI 16 will these still fit? they are the right size but will they still work?
Perfect.. Yes the card will. For your learning of the day, PCI and PCI-e are different. PCI-e is longer looking, the circled one.



Found this on google.

Next important question....... What case? It's a small board so case room is important.


toxicity_27

Actually, I miss read untill you pointed it out..... But remembered having read it was Vista... so I was like pheeeeeew.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 11:45 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Re: Graphics Card question

The case is just a gerneric case that come with the pc, it is a big one not a small one like you get with those dell optiplex things so I think there will be plenty of room. So for future reference I do have PCI express then yes?

And also thanks you for the help, tomorrow I am going to buy the graphics card when my new card arrives through the post.
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 11:49 AM   #17 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Graphics Card question

Yha you do have PCI-e x16, but as i first stated 2.0 is backwards compatible.

Watch out for the posties..., There's a post on here about their incompitance down in off topic i think.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 11:55 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Re: Graphics Card question

It's alright I am buying on a credit card so if it don't arrive it wont cost me anything. Paypal is also alright for buying on the web, and you find that 9 times out of 10 private courriers deliver the parcels royal mail don't really deliver any computer equipment I have purchased apart from RAM as they can just be posted through the door. But i will check the posties thread in the other section.
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 03:06 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Re: Graphics Card question

This card has a slot for a hdmi cable so does that mean I will be able to get sound through this cable on my tv without having to connect a separate sound lead like I do when I use a VGA cable?
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 03:59 PM   #20 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Graphics Card question

Yup, as log as you connect the sound to it

Cool, it doesn't need to get sound plugged in...
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
HELP! graphics card!? Headaches Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-04-2009 07:27 PM
wireless PCI LAN card blocking part of graphics card fan Santuzzo Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 05-01-2009 07:59 AM
New graphics card for £100 Alvin.C New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-19-2008 06:10 PM
Graphics Card and Power Supply ratzlaff System Upgrades 6 04-29-2008 12:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.