Graphics card problem! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2006, 12:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Angry Graphics card problem!

Hi i just bought 2gb of Corsair Value Ram PC3200, a Creative Sound Blaster Audigy sound card and a 256MB XFX 6800GS. I inserted them all at the same time but my graphics card isnt working. I know it is my graphics because i took it our and put in my old 9800 and thats what i have in at the moment. By not working i mean when i start up the computer it just stops before the monitor even turns on. The light idicating the hard drive is in use just turns off after about 10 seconds. Any help is greatly appriciated.
__________________

istanbul05 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 12:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

have you tried different PCI slots?

Or try using the integrated graphics, to see if its a monitor problem?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Default

What do you mean? It is an AGP Card and i only have one of them in my motherboard
istanbul05 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Try reseating the card in the AGP slot. Some cards need to be pushed almost forcibly into the slot. Also check that the 4-pin molex power plug is connected, I'm pretty sure the 9800 doesn't have one, so you might have forgotten to plug it in on the new card. Tell us if it works. Cheers
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Default

Yes i have re-seated it rwice when i was trying it and i had already plugged in the 4 pin power cable.....i dont know a lot about computers but i couldnt have plugged in the wrong one could i? :s
istanbul05 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 408
Send a message via AIM to neweyedeya18
Default

no you really cant
__________________
neweyedeya18 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Try pulling the sound card... then pull the battery from your mobo. wait about 20 minutes, reseat the battery and then try again. Don't reset the sound card yet... Wait until you have video first beofre you do that... make sure you download the latest Nvidia drivers as well before you go putting that audio card back in... resetting the bios should work... you will have to go in after wards and change the video settings if you have on board or can change the bus memeory type (AGP 128, 256, etc...)
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Default

Hi im sorry but where is the motherboard battery? And should i uninstall my current ati drivers and install the nvidia drivers from the cd which came with my card all before i insert my new card??

And how do i reset my bos and change the bus memory type. Sorry for not knowing any of this lol!
istanbul05 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

The Mobo battery is the small silver disk on the Mobo that looks like a big watch-battery. Try removing the old ATI drivers, but I don't think that is the problem, cause drivers wouldn't cause probs before you get into Windows. What PSU do you have? It could be that the card doesn't get enough power.
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Default

I think i only have a 400w power supply...
__________________

istanbul05 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.