graphics card for my computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2007, 04:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: san pedro, los angeles, CA
Posts: 6
Default graphics card for my computer

i wanted to know if this graphic card would be compatable for my computer and make sure it is worth buying for games high detail and speed.

my computer is a
Hewlett-Packard Pavilion Desktop with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E6320

320GB Serial ATA hard drive (7200 rpm);
current video card, Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 950

windows vista : P

Processor Speed 1.86GHz
opengl 2.0 direct x 10

is this graphics card good enough to play games or...


BFG GeForce 8800 GTS OC 320MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Model: BFGR88320GTSOCE

its 339.99 uds
__________________

blastguy is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 04:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: graphics card for my computer

Whats the model number on the HP? Get a Evga brand 8800gts 320MB instead
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 04:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: san pedro, los angeles, CA
Posts: 6
Default Re: graphics card for my computer

its a6040n
blastguy is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 04:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: graphics card for my computer

Newegg.com - EVGA 320-P2-N811-AR GeForce 8800GTS 320MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

It's cheaper and the best brand for a 8800GTS.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 04:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: san pedro, los angeles, CA
Posts: 6
Default Re: graphics card for my computer

thanks
blastguy is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 04:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: graphics card for my computer

Seeing as its an HP have you opened it to check and make sure it actually has a pci-e slot?
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 04:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: san pedro, los angeles, CA
Posts: 6
Default Re: graphics card for my computer

on the site where i bought the pc its says 2 available pci-expressx16 slotsx
blastguy is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 04:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: san pedro, los angeles, CA
Posts: 6
Default Re: graphics card for my computer

and its new
blastguy is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 04:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: graphics card for my computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Seeing as its an HP have you opened it to check and make sure it actually has a pci-e slot?
I've check and found that it DOES have a PCI-e x16 slot. It's standard procedure for me to double check before I recommend things.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 04:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: san pedro, los angeles, CA
Posts: 6
Default Re: graphics card for my computer

cool thanks for you help everyone i really apreciate it
__________________

blastguy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Video card and/or motherboard issues sdness Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-13-2008 01:41 AM
Won't go onto Windows Logon or Accounts through graphics card, but will on shared gfx Linked Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-28-2007 09:04 PM
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.