Graphics Card installation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2008, 08:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Default Graphics Card installation

Hi everyone.

I have a terrible feeling that I am going to be asking a question that is asked a lot, and this is possibly not the right forum to ask it in but I am a complete novice with regard to computers and so please forgive me.

I wish to upgrade the graphics card on my PC, and today I purchased a ATI Sapphire HD Pro card. The specifications were good enough for what I needed and at a reasonable price I thought that was it. However, I did not realise there were various types of slot for the card to fit into - AGP, PCI, PCI express etc. The card I have bought is PCI express and so does not fit into my Dell Dimension 3100 as far as I can see. The computer is almost exactly 2 years old, purchased in Sept '06. I have uploaded a picture of what I think is a PCI slot on the inside of the computer to photobucket, which is here: http://i138.photobucket.com/albums/q...r/DSC01119.jpg I am sorry for the poor quality of the photo, but the lower slot containing the card that the system came with (Intel(R) 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family... I think) is the same as the upper slot.

My questions then. Firstly, am I right in saying that the only slots I have available are PCI? Secondly, if this is the case, can someone recommend a graphics card for the PCI slot? My budget is roughly 50, which would roughly equate to $100 I should think.

Thank you very much for your help.
__________________

Mozart Face is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 08:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Graphics Card installation

Sorry to say this, but the best card for the normal PCI interface would be the 8600gt, which isn't exactly the best thing in the world (Albatron 8600gt PCI more specifically is its name)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 08:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Graphics Card installation

Yes, it appears you are right about only having PCI slots. Welcome to being screwed by Dell's cheap low-end excuses for a computer.

I didn't have much luck with UK etailers. None of them work as well as Newegg.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 08:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Graphics Card installation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Yes, it appears you are right about only having PCI slots. Welcome to being screwed by Dell's cheap low-end excuses for a computer.

I didn't have much luck with UK etailers. None of them work as well as Newegg.
Crappy Crappy Dell... even with AGP he had more expansion room (if only cutting up cards actually worked hahaha )
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 08:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Graphics Card installation

Wow, thanks for the super fast replies, I really appreciate it. The trouble is if you search for PCI it almost inevitably comes up with PCI express results so I haven't had a lot of luck in searching myself. Also I am growing annoyed at Dell from what I am learning here! Having read up on the subject a bit, I find that the PCIe interface has been around a fair few years longer than I have had my computer.

I will do my best to find the Albatron then and bring back my ATI card to the shop tomorrow (where I was assured there would be no trouble at all in fitting it onto a two year old PC). Thanks again.
Mozart Face is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 09:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Graphics Card installation

If you are able to find them, the X1300 and 2400PRO come in PCI.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 09:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: Graphics Card installation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mozart Face View Post
Wow, thanks for the super fast replies, I really appreciate it. The trouble is if you search for PCI it almost inevitably comes up with PCI express results so I haven't had a lot of luck in searching myself. Also I am growing annoyed at Dell from what I am learning here! Having read up on the subject a bit, I find that the PCIe interface has been around a fair few years longer than I have had my computer.

I will do my best to find the Albatron then and bring back my ATI card to the shop tomorrow (where I was assured there would be no trouble at all in fitting it onto a two year old PC). Thanks again.
lol i guess they meant a non-Dell two year old PC.

How much did the Dell cost you anyway and do you know it's specs(processor, amount of ram etc)
__________________

Joeyboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New graphics card for 100 Alvin.C New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-19-2008 06:10 PM
Dedicated power supply for a graphics card? wencke530 System Upgrades 13 02-23-2008 07:27 PM
Graphics card upgrade TFB New Systems | Building and Buying 29 12-01-2007 12:09 PM
Graphics card incompatibility? ChiliPalmer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-30-2007 11:01 PM
Graphics card fan iviv Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-31-2007 06:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.