Graphics Card help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2013, 02:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Bartek24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 69
Default Graphics Card help

Hello. I want to choose a graphics card but im not sure about motherboard capability. Could you suggest a decent graphics card I could for this

Motherboard
Packard Bell BV M2NS-NVM ( am2 socket )
Ive got 2 PCI-E slots and it says this

One says PCIEX16
The other PCIEX1_1

On the motherboard itself it says Asus if that helps.

Thanks
__________________

Bartek24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 03:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Graphics Card help

You can technically put any graphics card you want in the slot. It would go in the first slot PCI-E 16x. We can't really help much without any further details.

Purpose of upgrade, CPU, RAM, OS, and PSU information, budget, ect.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 03:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Bartek24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 69
Default

Purpose - Watch youtube videos in HD without lag. Play the occasional MMORPG Runescape on high settings. Ram 2.25gb. Cpu Amd Athlon 64 2.01Ghz. PSU octigen 300W.

My Budget is not spending above 50 but if i have to then I will.
Runescape isnt a very graphics heavy game its just on high settings the game looks better but causes lag so im forced to play on Med-Low.
Bartek24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 03:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Bartek24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 69
Default

And also running Windows Xp
Bartek24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 03:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Graphics Card help

What is your current card? There isn't much you can do in that budget with that wattage of PSU, but it's doable.

Here is one such option.

EVGA NVIDIA GT 630 Graphics Card - 1GB - 01G-P3-2631-KR - Scan.co.uk
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 03:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Bartek24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 69
Default

Right now i have none. Only the standard intergrated thing.
Bartek24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 03:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Graphics Card help

Then the GT630 will be a huge upgrade basically. Not exactly a "gaming grade" graphics card but it'll do what you want it to do.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 03:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Bartek24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 69
Default

Ok thanks alot you have been very helpful!
__________________

Bartek24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.