Graphics card for gaming. PLEASE help! No one else will. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2006, 12:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default Graphics card for gaming. PLEASE help! No one else will.

Hello, first post here.

Ok, I'm going to try and make this explanation as simple as possible. I've tried to get an answer from Dell about this issue, and have been given THREE DIFFERENT ANSWERS to the same question. It's concerning gaming & graphics cards. One representative said "yes, you can use this graphics card" another said "no, your PC is not upgradable... something about the PCIx1 slot" and the other rep said... well, you can take a guess. So frustrating.

Here's my question, but first, my PC specs.


Dimension E310 Series, Intel Pentium 4 Processor 521 (2.80GHz) and 1MB cache
1GB DDR2 SDRAM at 400MHz
Integrated Intel Graphics Media Accelator 900
The rest of my info you'll need to know:
http://support.dell.com/support/edoc....htm#wp1052310


I want to play Everquest 2.
I need a graphics card that is compatible with my PC and with the game.
Can I actually install a graphics card, (if so, which one?) ...
or is my PC really not equipped for it?
All the talk about PCI slots really confused me, I don't know what is going on, and I need some help before I go insane!!!


Graphics card MUST meet these requirements:
DirectX 9 compatible; pixel shader and vertex shader compatible hardware with 64 MB of texture memory






ANY help on this would be greatly appreciated! Thanks
__________________

satuurnalia is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 12:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to jdon285 Send a message via Yahoo to jdon285
Default

I have this in a Dell E510 at home. It should work well for you:

256MB PCI Express™ x16 (DVI/VGA/TV-out) ATI Radeon X600 SE HyperMemory
__________________

jdon285 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 12:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

Well, the second answer is sorta correct... You only have a PCIE x1 slot, so upgrading a video card with PCIE x16 is out. You can get a PCI card, but are limited in what you can get... they do make PCIE x1 cards now... which is a TAD better than a PCI... but that is your only choice right now.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814161017
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 12:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 164
Default

try what i had for my old computer. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814143059
it wasnt half bad and could run battlefield 2. it should work with your comp.
__________________
AMD 3500+
1GB PC3200
ASUS Motherboard
WD 80GB
7900GT 256
goblue14 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 12:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

»\_(ツ)_/»
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Any of these will meet the minimum requirements (Video Card: DirectX 9 compatible. Pixel shader and vertex shader compatible hardware with 64 MB of texture memory):
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ice=&maxPrice=
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 01:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

that 1x pci-express card is too expensive...

just get this

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814143058
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 01:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 144
Default

eh that blows, my friends comp which was a dell had its agp slot pulled out, to save dell a few pennies i guess
__________________
(>-.-)==>
RepuLse is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 02:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

see if you can change your mobo to someting with the same cpu socket as you current cpu but has a (or some) pci-e x16 slots on it for graphics card
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 04:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

trying to upgrade a Dell mobo is like trying to get the golden egg from a pig... (1) He would pay out the nose for it and (2) would have to get the new driver disk, (3) WITH an new XP install disk...

So in reality, it would be easier to get a temp card, and then buy/build a whole new system later on when the money is available... but that's just my opinion.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 05:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Geforce FX5500 PCI - $59.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814143059
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.