Graphic Card Problem!!! (any advice) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2005, 08:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 156
Question Graphic Card Problem!!! (any advice)

Okay, heres the deal. I got two PC's, and my dad want's me to create a game network between the two..... (that's not the problem though...)

My old Pc is very awful Compaq presario... I know, i know... I installed a GF4TI4200 on it years ago. But i have to upgrade it now due to game demands (BF2 mainly) but the problem is that i can't change the power supply ( I tried everything under the sun, it is physically impossible to change the power supply!!!) So i had to find a video card that would be fine to run at 250 watts, it was either the Nvidia 5700 Ultra or a ATi 9600XT, the problem is that the 5700 Ultra are as rare as hen's teeth in Australia. So i settled for a 9600xt, which is more readily available..

Problem is here though, i have taken out the ti4200, but the mobo has a gf4 onboard video (which requires nvidia drivers to run...) I install the 9600Xt but low and behold, the **** onboard is still the primary video, i try to remove the drivers but nothing, I can't seem to remove the **** nvidia drivers. I can't do a format because the computer won't let me get into the bio's or even does such a thing......

So any help please?
__________________

__________________
There are only Two things in life i regret doing... 1. Selling my Soul for Cash.... 2. Buying a Compaq.... I should have kept the Cash, huh.
wedge_00 is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 09:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 378
Send a message via AIM to Anphrax
Default

I had the same problem, but instead it was with a Dell. Now im not sure if it will be the same for you as it was for me but I would give it a shot... these are my recommendations:

1. Verify with the computer's documentation or manufacturer that there are no jumpers to disable.

2. If you have Windows 2000 or XP, Before adding the card within windows, disable the onboard Video by clicking on Start > Settings > Control Panel > double click on System > click on the Device Manager tab > click the plus by display adapter > double click on the video card under display adapter > and place a check in the box to disable in hardware profile (towards the bottom). Shut Down the computer and attempt to install the video card into the computer.

I really hope this helps you out. If it doesnt you might want to try: this
__________________

__________________
Sig privileges back.

I love you sig santa :D
Anphrax is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 09:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

sometimes you have to go into the bios and disable the onboard video and allow it to find the video card you've installed. Then it'll select the video card you installed for it's primary.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 10:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 156
Default

THe problem is that the onboard video is nvidia, so i won't be able to completley remove the drivers though.
__________________
There are only Two things in life i regret doing... 1. Selling my Soul for Cash.... 2. Buying a Compaq.... I should have kept the Cash, huh.
wedge_00 is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 10:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 156
Default

It was able to swap to the GF4 TI without even changing in the bio's or even in windows. But the ATI is another kettle of fish...
__________________
There are only Two things in life i regret doing... 1. Selling my Soul for Cash.... 2. Buying a Compaq.... I should have kept the Cash, huh.
wedge_00 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.