Graphic Card Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2009, 05:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 39
Default Graphic Card Help

Ok I just bought a ATI Radeon 4850HD card, I put the card in, ran the computer then installed the driver, but when I restart the computer, I get a blue screen saying a new or recently installed device is causing an unexpected problem. I can't get past this blue screen, Windows searches for a way to fix it, but only brings up system restore. I have a 650 watt PSU, AMD 780G Mobo. What could be the problem.
__________________

obxdude018 is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 05:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

»\_(ツ)_/»
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Graphic Card Help

Did you uninstall the old drivers first?

If not, shut down the computer and remove the 4850. Boot back up with your old graphics, then uninstall both the old drivers as well as the ATI drivers. Boot into safe mode and run Driver Sweeper to remove the leftovers of both your old drivers and the ATI drivers. Shut down the computer and reinstall the 4850. Boot up and then install the ATI drivers.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 06:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 39
Default Re: Graphic Card Help

I have installed another ATI card this way before and didn't have a problem with it, would this graphic card be to strong for my setup.
obxdude018 is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 06:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Graphic Card Help

Probably not.

Just follow Trotter's instructions and you should be good to go
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 06:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Graphic Card Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by obxdude018 View Post
I have installed another ATI card this way before and didn't have a problem with it, would this graphic card be to strong for my setup.
Possible but very unlikely. Just go through the steps Trotter laid out and you should get it working fine.

Edit: Ninja'd!
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 08:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 39
Default

I have uninstalled my HD 3200 graphic card, but still pretty much the same result, I get the blue screen that says memory crash dump resulting from recently installed hardware.

Am I doing something wrong or could it be a bad card.
obxdude018 is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 02:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Graphic Card Help

what is the code on blue screen
abudalow is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 07:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 39
Default

Don't really have time to look at the screen lasts for about 5 to 10 seconds and then restarts the computer.

Another thing, when I install the driver for my video card, I get an error message that says Application Install: out of disk space.

Here is the log Catalyst« Install Manager
Installation Report
11/04/09 20:10:01


Hardware information
Name RS780
Manufacturer ATI Technologies Inc
Device ID 0x9600
Vendor ID 0x1022
Class Code 0x060000
Revision ID 0x00
Subsystem ID 0x0155
Subsystem vendor ID 0x1025
Other hardware

Existing packagesCatalyst Control Center
ATI Catalyst Install Manager
HDMI Audio Driver
AVIVO64
HydraVision

Packages for install
ATI Catalyst Install ManagerFinal Status: Success
Version of Item: 3.0.728.0
Size: 20 Mbytes
HDMI Audio DriverFinal Status: Success
Version of Item: 5.00.60000.49
Size: 1 Mbytes
Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 SP1 RedistributableFinal Status: Fail
Version of Item: 8.0.56336
Size: 10 Mbytes


Other detected devices

Manufacturer ATI Technologies Inc
Device ID 0x960f
Vendor ID 0x1002
Class Code 0x040300
Revision ID 0x00
Subsystem ID 0x960f
Subsystem vendor ID 0x1002


Manufacturer ATI Technologies Inc
Device ID 0xaa30
Vendor ID 0x1002
Class Code 0x040300
Revision ID 0x00
Subsystem ID 0xaa30
Subsystem vendor ID 0x1545

ATI Integrated SATA Support
Manufacturer ATI Technologies Inc
Device ID 0x4390
Vendor ID 0x1002
Class Code 0x01018f
Revision ID 0x00
Subsystem ID 0x0155
Subsystem vendor ID 0x1025

ATI Integrated SMBus Support
Manufacturer ATI Technologies Inc
Device ID 0x4385
Vendor ID 0x1002
Class Code 0x0c0500
Revision ID 0x3a
Subsystem ID 0x0155
Subsystem vendor ID 0x1025

ATI Integrated SATA Support
Manufacturer ATI Technologies Inc
Device ID 0x439c
Vendor ID 0x1002
Class Code 0x01018a
Revision ID 0x00
Subsystem ID 0x0155
Subsystem vendor ID 0x1025

ATI Integrated Azalia Support
Manufacturer ATI Technologies Inc
Device ID 0x4383
Vendor ID 0x1002
Class Code 0x040300
Revision ID 0x00
Subsystem ID 0x0155
Subsystem vendor ID 0x1025


Error messages
Application Install: out of disk space


Also, I restarted my computer after running a driver sweep, my comp. automatically downloaded new drivers, I got two standard VGA Graphics Adapter both with little attention icons on them, the first one says

This device cannot start. (Code 10)

Click 'Check for solutions' to send data about this device to Microsoft and to see if there is a solution available.

Second one says

Windows cannot load the device driver for this hardware because a previous instance of the device driver is still in memory. (Code 38)

You need to restart your computer before the changes you made to this device will take effect.

Click 'Check for solutions' to send data about this device to Microsoft and to see if there is a solution available.
obxdude018 is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 09:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 39
Default Re: Graphic Card Help

This is what I am doing from the control panel I delete the drivers that are under my display adapters, I shut down, go into safe mode the run my driver sweeper, then reboot back, then I get both of the drivers showing up again, I believe my computer is recognizing the integrated chip as well as the one in my PCI-e slot to, so how do I disable the integrated chip. I'm sure it is through bios, but I never really understand anything in there.
__________________

obxdude018 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphic anamolies artifacts/tearing with new video card. Nightwish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 07-25-2009 08:32 AM
Lag problem with the graphic card aman113 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 14 05-15-2009 06:52 PM
Graphic card??? bonga System Upgrades 14 05-01-2009 07:25 PM
no video from graphic card peter_ming Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-10-2009 11:27 PM
Graphic card upgrade advice Gorse System Upgrades 6 10-13-2008 04:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.