graphic card dilemma - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2010, 03:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 39
Default graphic card dilemma

my rig:
E8500 @ 3.95gHz
4GB DDR2
4850HD 512MB
WD Blue 640GB
Win7 Ultimate 32bit
LG L1919S (1280x1024)

would i benefit much if i bought an 6850?
do you think it would be worth buying, since i'm playing games at 1280x1024?
__________________

pike8 is offline  
Old 10-30-2010, 04:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: graphic card dilemma

As far as I know, Radeon HD 4850 is more than enough for 1280*1024
__________________

Skorpian is offline  
Old 10-30-2010, 05:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: graphic card dilemma

^^Yup, a 4850 is good for 1280x1024 and you wouldn't see that much of an improvement with a 6850.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 10-30-2010, 06:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 39
Default Re: graphic card dilemma

thanks for your replies guys.
so, in order to run games like mafia 2, metro 2033, crysis, assassin's creed 2 maxed out @ 60FPS i should, what, upgrade my CPU?
pike8 is offline  
Old 10-30-2010, 06:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: graphic card dilemma

I think that the money would be better spent on DDR3 mobo/RAM, win7 64-bit OS, or a better monitor. For the price of a HD 6850, you could get any of those. It'd be hard to find a DDR3 mobo with socket 775, but they exist.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Old 10-30-2010, 08:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: graphic card dilemma

For just under the cost of a 6850 you could get this:

1. AMD Athlon II X4 640 Propus 3.0GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor ADX640WFGMBOX
2. ASUS M4A785-M AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 785G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Combo Price: $157.98

The board would allow you to reuse your current RAM.

My question is why are you running a 2-bit version of Win7?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-30-2010, 10:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: graphic card dilemma

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
For just under the cost of a 6850 you could get this:

1. AMD Athlon II X4 640 Propus 3.0GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor ADX640WFGMBOX
2. ASUS M4A785-M AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 785G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Combo Price: $157.98

The board would allow you to reuse your current RAM.

My question is why are you running a 2-bit version of Win7?
As far as gaming performance is concerned I'm not sure that would be an upgrade vs a 4ghz E8500. He might need to go all the way to a Core i7 to see a significant improvement in cpu performance.

@pike8

Since you mentioned Crysis which is a bit of a special case a faster card might actually be worth it and I'm going to retract my earlier statement. Most of the time a 4850 is plenty for you res but I know from experience that if the goal is to play the absolute most demanding games (which you seem to want to dol) it will fall a little short. Besides if you do get a HD 6850 you will be in great shape if you decide to upgrade to a 1080p monitor sometime down the road.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 10-30-2010, 11:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: graphic card dilemma

I missed the E8500. My mind saw E6xxx. >.<
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 01:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: graphic card dilemma

You should have mentioned that you wanted to play Crysis but as far as I know no GPU was able to play Crysis at max res 2560*1600 and max graphics settings except for Crossfired Radeon HD 5970. But since you have your res 1280*1024, you might want to see if your GPU will give you enough satisfying to your graphics needs ( Maybe not max settings? :P ), but if you really want max settings, go ahead for a new GPU
Skorpian is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 10:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default Re: graphic card dilemma

Crysis and Metro will need a better CPU and GPU before maxing out.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Sound Card, Dilemma! mfauser Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 07-29-2009 08:12 AM
Graphic Card Dilemma robdarftw New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-28-2008 01:41 AM
Video Card Dilemma john3 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-30-2006 11:40 AM
Video card dilemma Liamo0o New Systems | Building and Buying 13 03-20-2006 01:07 AM
Video Card Dilemma (need a very high performance card: 6800 gt-sli/ultra? x850 xt?) Calzinger Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 47 04-04-2005 07:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.