GPU upgrade for my current PC... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2013, 09:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
mwwwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 119
Default GPU upgrade for my current PC...

I'm looking to upgrade, if at all possible, my graphics for gaming for Christmas. I am wondering what would be the best bang for my buck? I'm not upgrading anything else in this PC, except for RAM. This is what I have:
MOBO=Biostar A770E3 (can accept a one PCI Express 2.0 x16 card)
CPU=AMD Phenom II x4 840
RAM=Mushkin Silverline 2x2 GB , but this is about to be
CORSAIR DOMINATOR GT 8GB (2 x 4GB)
PSU=RaidMax Hybrid 2 530W

Current GPU is a ZOTAC AMP GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB

Wanting to upgrade for optimal settings and framerate increased. The problem is I don't know where my limit is on a GPU with my current setup. Again... I am not going to upgrade anything else. So please just suggest a card that will suit my current equipment. Take into consideration the RAM upgrade though because that is happening in a week.

I know that a some point my CPU and PSU will slow down a GPU. I just don't know what that max is. I know that I can do better than the GPU that I currently have. 660 ti??? or can I sneak a little more power & performance out of another card?

As always, Thanks in advance. All you guys are great to me. Top notch advisers and troubleshooters.
Thanks,
Mark W.
__________________

mwwwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 10:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: GPU upgrade for my current PC...

At some point your PSU could completely kill your whole system. I would worry more about upgrading that first rather than doing anything else. Raidmax and Apevia make some of the worst bottom of the barrel cheap units to date.

I also wouldn't be wasting money on top end RAM like that either. Basic 1600MHz DDR3 is all you need for any rig.

To answer your question, R9 270x really. Can't go much higher.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 10:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
mwwwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 119
Default

Any particular maker of that GPU?
Also, what PSU would you suggest?
Thanks
mwwwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 10:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: GPU upgrade for my current PC...

Depends on your budget honestly.

You could get a lower wattage Seasonic like this which would handle most any single GPU setup and it's modular. The non-modular one is 10 bucks cheaper.
SeaSonic M12II 520 Bronze 520W ATX12V v2.3 / EPS 12V v2.91 SLI Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Newegg.com

For brand on the 270x, XFX, Asus, or Sapphire. If you have a higher budget and can get that PSU I would go with a 760 or the 280x.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.