GPU Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2017, 06:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Default GPU Upgrade

Hello I am looking to upgrade my Gateway DX4200-09 desktop, it currently has AMD integrated graphics, HD 3200, at 500mb(ish) of vram. I am looking for something that can be found on amazon for under 60 to 70 dollars. The most bang for the buck but cheaper is always better. Something gaming qualified, I would like to play rocket league, CSGO and other games like that, nothing to intense.
Here are the specs for the computer.
640GB 7200rpm Serial ATA II/300 hard drive with 16MB Cache
• Amd Phenom X4 9750 95W AM2+ 4MB 2400MHZ
• Integrated ATI Radeon HD 3200 Hybrid Graphics with up to 256MB of Shared Video Memory
• 4096MB 800MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM (2-2048MB modules), expandable up to 8GB
• AMD 780G Chipset
• 1 – PCI-E x16, 1 – PCI-Ex1 and 1 – PCI Available Expansion Slots
• 18X DVD+/-R/RW SuperMulti Drive featuring Labelflash Technology
• Gateway 15-in-1 media card reader with copy button
• 6 USB 2.0 ports (2 Front, 4 Rear)
• 2 IEEE 1394a Ports(1 Front, 1 Rear)
• 1 HDMI and 1 VGA video port
• 2 PS2 Ports
• 56k ITU v.92 Ready Fax/Modem (RJ-11 port)
• 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet LAN (RJ-45 port)
• Premium Multimedia Keyboard
• 2-Button USB Optical Wheel Mouse
• Amplified USB Powered Stereo Speakers
• 8-Channel (7.1) High Definition Audio
• Dimensions (H x W x D): 16.34” x 7.09” x 17.32” (415mm x 180mm x 440mm)
• 300W Power Supply
Thank you for the recommendations.
__________________

ColeS. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 07:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,877
Default Re: GPU Upgrade

You're kinda coming into things at the wrong time wanting cheap. Mining has jacked the prices of GPUs skyhigh. Even a crappy 1030 is over your budget, when it's supposed to be a 40 dollar card. Even with a fast i7 in my laptop the GPU in it makes it so I can't play Rocket League smoothly (which is what a cheap card like a 1030 would do). That being said if you were to actually squeeze that Phenom II from the other thread into your machine you'd need a better GPU to kinda carry the weight. Minimum I'd look at is a 1050 which the cheapest I can see is about 100 bucks.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 09:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Default Re: GPU Upgrade

Thanks but I decieded to go with a Phenom 1 cpu because I have no idea how to update the BIOS and where to look. Also what time do you think would be a good time to go GPU shopping?
Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
You're kinda coming into things at the wrong time wanting cheap. Mining has jacked the prices of GPUs skyhigh. Even a crappy 1030 is over your budget, when it's supposed to be a 40 dollar card. Even with a fast i7 in my laptop the GPU in it makes it so I can't play Rocket League smoothly (which is what a cheap card like a 1030 would do). That being said if you were to actually squeeze that Phenom II from the other thread into your machine you'd need a better GPU to kinda carry the weight. Minimum I'd look at is a 1050 which the cheapest I can see is about 100 bucks.
ColeS. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 11:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,877
Default Re: GPU Upgrade

Phenom 1 is going to hold you back considerately.

Quote:
good time to go GPU shopping?
Nobody knows. Whenever mining busts.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 04:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Default Re: GPU Upgrade

I know but I have no idea how and where I can find BIOS support I tried to look on the manufacture's website for the motherboard and nothing I tried to do research and nothing on my model of motherboard. If you can point me in the right direction that would be very helpful.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Phenom 1 is going to hold you back considerately.

Nobody knows. Whenever mining busts.
ColeS. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 06:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,877
Default Re: GPU Upgrade

Looks like these guys have the latest bios if the link is still good. Problem is, a bios from 2008 probably won't support Phenom 2 so you're a bit SOL.

Cannot find BIOS for Foxconn RS780 MB - [Solved] - Motherboards

Probably can't even run a Phenom 2 940BE either since it came out Jan of 09.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2017, 12:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Default Re: GPU Upgrade

Who had the latest bios there are no links. Also what is the version of the bios for the bios I need to support the cpu because the system did tons of updates an I did some my self.
ColeS. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2017, 12:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,877
Default Re: GPU Upgrade

Scroll down the thread, it's the last link available but I didn't click it. Doesn't matter though, the latest bios that appears to be available for the motherboard doesn't support anything newer than Phenom 1.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2018, 07:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Default Re: GPU Upgrade

Hello, sorry not for responding in a while but I looked at the link and it does not have what I need it has an older version of what I have at the moment. What BIOS version would I need for this CPU to work?
https://www.amazon.com/AMD-Phenom-Qu...+Quad-Core+95w
ColeS. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2018, 09:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,877
Default Re: GPU Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Scroll down the thread, it's the last link available but I didn't click it. Doesn't matter though, the latest bios that appears to be available for the motherboard doesn't support anything newer than Phenom 1.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColeS. View Post
Hello, sorry not for responding in a while but I looked at the link and it does not have what I need it has an older version of what I have at the moment. What BIOS version would I need for this CPU to work?
https://www.amazon.com/AMD-Phenom-Qu...+Quad-Core+95w
Answered in previous post.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Small GPU, single fan vs. Larger GPU, dual fan. Which will stay cooler in a Mini-ITX system? FairPlay New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-02-2014 03:25 PM
gpu overheating, upgrade gpu or new system? gskgsad New Systems | Building and Buying 4 11-14-2009 12:54 PM
quad core vs duel core..single gpu vs x2 gpu soulafien New Systems | Building and Buying 11 06-21-2008 03:41 PM
2GB of GPU Memory? Dual GPU's on one card wtf will they come up with next? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 09-03-2007 04:58 PM
Would it be better if...... GPU vs. GPU hmammen New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-08-2006 10:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.