GPU/RAM Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2011, 06:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 6
Default GPU/RAM Upgrade

I posted on these forums several weeks ago asking if I should upgrade my rig. I decided to go ahead and upgrade due to the fact I just have money to do it and I want too! Lol So here's where I am at.

Mobo: ASUS Crosshair IV Extereme AMD 890FX AM3
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition OC 3.8GHz
GPU: XFX Radeon HD 4890
RAM: OCZ Fatal1ty 8192MB PC10666 DDR3 1333MHz
SSD: Crucial RealSSD 64GB 2.5" SATA SSD *OS/Apps
HDD: WD VelociRaptor 300GB Hard Drive 10k *GAMES ONLY!
PSU: ULTRA X4 1050W POWER SUPPLY MODULAR
Sound: Creative Labs SB X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Champ
Monitor: Viewsonic VX2265wm 22in Wide 120hz LCD
Mouse/Pad: Steelseries Ikari Laser/Razer Sphex
Keyboard: Steelseries 6gv2 - Cherry MX Blacks
Headset: Sennheiser PC 350

I pretty much just need suggestions on what to do about my video card. I am really looking forward to BF3/Star Wars MMO/Diablo 3. Should I wait till the 7xxx series cards come out to upgrade my video card to say 2x HD 5870s(hopefully the prices drop) or just pick up a couple HD 5850 BEs? I doubt I will be able to afford CF 7xxx series cards.

RAM I am going to be picking some Kingston 1866MHz.
__________________

EqOpHater is offline  
Old 02-15-2011, 09:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 20
Default Re: GPU/RAM Upgrade

In my opinion I really think you should go with a couple XFX 5870's because I had a pair in my last rig before I upgraded to a pair of 5970s. You dont really need to wait because BF3 should run fine on those. (Ahhh, takes me back to when I played BF2 on a old ATI 9600SE)
ComancheCorps is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To upgrade parts or to upgrade a whole new rig? Bekay523 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 07-07-2010 01:27 PM
Windows 7 $30 upgrade, only a upgrade? Raven206 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 10-22-2009 07:56 PM
Want to upgrade to dx10 card...should I upgrade anything? ShifterControl New Systems | Building and Buying 1 10-21-2007 05:37 PM
upgrade proccessor or upgrade ram? j12 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 11-11-2006 07:16 PM
If i upgrade my processor i think i need to upgrade my power supply Too! MADWAD New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-29-2005 01:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.