GPU Memory Bandwidth? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2005, 04:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 25
Default GPU Memory Bandwidth?

Hi, I was wonder what memory bandwidth on graphics cards is. What is its function? Is it good to have large or small?
__________________

Zerohero2 is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 05:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

its how fast your graphics processor can send data to and from the video ram. it is best to have the biggest possible
__________________

GageMW is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 08:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 25
Default

Thanks, I have an extremely tight budget. Right now I have a PNY Verto Geforce 4 MX440 that has 6.4GB/sec for bandwidth. The PNY Verto 6200 128MB has only 4.0GB/sec. The 256MB version only goes 3.2GB/sec! Will this seriously downgrade my load time if I upgrade? F.Y.I, I can't afford a 6600GT or a 6600LE for that matter. Oh, and will the 6200 handle Battle Field 2?
Zerohero2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.