GPU for HTPC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2012, 01:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default GPU for HTPC

So I've finally rearranged all of my hardware and set up a system that will become my HTPC.
Question is, whats the cheapest GPU that will give a nice clear picture on say a 42" 1080p screen?

I was looking at the GeForce 210 and HD 5450, 1GB 64-bit DDR3.
Mainly because they are pretty cheap (~$35), and have full sized HDMI plugs.
__________________

__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 03-10-2012, 09:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: GPU for HTPC

I think I am using a 210 in my HTPC. I am running a 47" 1080p TV. My mother-in-law does some casual gaming on it.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-10-2012, 09:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default Re: GPU for HTPC

I have a GTS450 in mine (hooked up with HDMI) and it works great! crystal clear picture on my 37" LCD. Plus I found mine for about 50.00 at the time. (used)

What about something like this?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814133406
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 03-10-2012, 11:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: GPU for HTPC

Trotter - Glad to know it will work, if that is what you're running.

Nukem - I'll keep the GTS 450 in mind, looking for lowest possible price though, so if I can do it for $20 less that'd be a win.
I may also replace the PSU to the stock one, which doesn't have a 6-pin connector on it.

Also, this struck me last night as I was going to bed.
What is the primary hardware focus for an HTPC, storage?
I ask because I have an E2140 and E8400. The 8400 is currently in the HTPC, but may slap in the 2140 if there is no real difference.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 03-10-2012, 11:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: GPU for HTPC

Well, the E2140 does run very cool, and can OC like no tomorrow. Think I had a 90% overclock on it.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-10-2012, 01:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: GPU for HTPC

No overclocking, everything is going onto a Dell MB since I love the case, and it is completely silent.
For just doing media playback with VLC or GOM (or streaming off the net) does CPU speed really matter?

But it does raise the question of if I can run a fanless GPU, since the air-flow is... terrible really.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 03-10-2012, 02:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default Re: GPU for HTPC

I have found that VLC is more compatible for most formats. I've had to update codex's for GOM. but I have not had an issue with any lag on a socket 775 (Q8200) I would just make sure you have 2/4GB ram

It doesn't make sense to run a fanless GPU if your going to be using it in a case with poor circulation. But you could add a fan to it, or right underneath it to blow directly on it.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 03-10-2012, 04:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: GPU for HTPC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roark View Post
No overclocking, everything is going onto a Dell MB since I love the case, and it is completely silent.
For just doing media playback with VLC or GOM (or streaming off the net) does CPU speed really matter?

But it does raise the question of if I can run a fanless GPU, since the air-flow is... terrible really.
Yeah, it is this one:
Newegg.com - ASUS EN210 SILENT/DI/1GD3/V2(LP) GeForce 210 1GB 64-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 Low Profile Ready Video Card

I have a single 80mm fan in the back of the case, running a 3500+ single core. No heat issues at all.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gpu overheating, upgrade gpu or new system? gskgsad New Systems | Building and Buying 4 11-14-2009 01:54 PM
htpc os taintedplay Microsoft Windows and Software 9 07-09-2009 01:00 AM
WTB ,Ram,GPU,m-atx,TV tuner, HTPC case thirdshiftdj Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 09-05-2008 03:05 PM
Htpc Kdar New Systems | Building and Buying 9 04-10-2008 03:06 PM
2GB of GPU Memory? Dual GPU's on one card wtf will they come up with next? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 09-03-2007 05:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.