GPU fitting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2008, 10:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default GPU fitting

ok befor every one jumps in and gose you do this thats and the other let me explain

i have just got my self a Nexus Caterpillar case and i was just looking at it and i looked at the back and was thinking that dosent look right some how

well the thing is the expansion slots in the back is the thing there seems to be a bar devideing each one but then i thought would a larger graphics card fit in there like GTX or even a gts

just for refrances i looked for a photo of the rear of the case but could not find out (and my digital cam it out of action) so i found this case that has the same thing



hope the photo helps out a bit
__________________

__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 10:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: GPU fitting

well most of the new 8 series card take up two slots...and from tthat pic, it looks fine to me.
i had to unscrew mine and then i could also take out the metal bar between the slots.
...not sure if tahts what your asking.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 10:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: GPU fitting

for a gts it takes up 2 slots so you pull out 2 of your 7 expansions slot blocks im not sure how your case's little panels come out but the slots have an aluminum piece that u can pull out most have screws so you can pull hte panel out and save it. but some have little philips head screw slots whatit looks likein the middle of the plate and you stick your screw driver in it and pry it out.

once you have the 2 coresponding slots out you just put your GPU in and there ya go hope this helped
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 10:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: GPU fitting

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
well most of the new 8 series card take up two slots...and from tthat pic, it looks fine to me.
i had to unscrew mine and then i could also take out the metal bar between the slots.
...not sure if tahts what your asking.
ok i have not cheacked if i can take the bar out but it looks to be in it with a little rivit
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 11:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: GPU fitting

i think what krazyq is talking about is the slots where the card's I/O shield is showing take out 2 so that the bottom part of the card ( the vent ) can circulate air in and out of the case.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 11:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: GPU fitting

Quote:
Originally Posted by DawnOfDoom View Post
i think what krazyq is talking about is the slots where the card's I/O shield is showing take out 2 so that the bottom part of the card ( the vent ) can circulate air in and out of the case.
ok seem to make sense

just looked at the case and there is no way to take off the bar it looks like it might take a gtx but i just want to make sure save me spending money when i dont need to
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 11:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: GPU fitting

Quote:
Originally Posted by solidsteve View Post
ok seem to make sense

just looked at the case and there is no way to take off the bar it looks like it might take a gtx but i just want to make sure save me spending money when i dont need to
well one of my old cases had no screws or anything..i had to use force to push it out..i used a screwdrive.
also make sure a gtx will fit in your case vertically...and make sure you have good airflow so you wont run into overheating problems.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 11:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: GPU fitting

Quote:
Originally Posted by solidsteve View Post
ok seem to make sense

just looked at the case and there is no way to take off the bar it looks like it might take a gtx but i just want to make sure save me spending money when i dont need to
the whole back interface panel is pop rivited to the case frame. Pretty much every ATX 7 slot Case can handle a GTX or any card that takes up 2 slots.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 12:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: GPU fitting

The bars do come off i have them in my computer

If its not budging your not using enough strength!
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 04:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: GPU fitting

lol, if it don't move, PUSH IT HARDER!!!

thats wierd that they don't have screws. guess thier giong for the tool free design.......
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU Overclocking...simple question mgcook Overclocking and Modding 3 01-01-2008 12:07 AM
GPU Physics Dead for Now, Says AMD’s Developer Relations Chief. Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 0 11-20-2007 11:58 PM
A Couple GPU Overclocking Questions Poemaster Overclocking and Modding 3 10-31-2007 05:17 AM
Everest wont show GPU temps in Vista? jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 10 10-27-2007 11:05 PM
Help choosing for next upgrade, GPU or CPU? ki9090 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 10-17-2007 06:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.