GPU Core Temperatures - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2006, 02:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Default GPU Core Temperatures

Hello all! My computer keeps restarting when i am playing video games so i checked the GPU core temperature (thinking they were overheating) and it said it was 83C. Is this high for the temps to be? I have two NVIDIA 7800gt's in SLI mode and this was the temp. of the first card, and the second card was slightly less in temps. The core slowdown threshold is set at 115C (default) . If the temp exceeds this limit does the computer restart automatically to avoid damage?

After my computer restarted it said that it had recovered from a serious error that was caused by and unknown device driver. I submitted the error report and it gave me a link to the microsoft website that had no information about the problem.

So is it the GPU's or is it some "unknown device driver"?

If anyone has any thoughts on this issue please respond. Thank you very much!!
__________________

mastercheif1231 is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 04:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Is that temp that max it hit, or what it was when you got back to windows?

Did you upgrade from an ATI card? Have you tried different/newest drivers?
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 02:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Default

Well...I minimized the game and thats what it said on NVIDIA display. I have never had an ATI card and i got the drivers right from the nvidia's website the 81.98 one. I should also add that one of the GPU's is an XFX brand and the other one is just GeForce.
mastercheif1231 is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 06:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Are you overclocking at all?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 10:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

83 is too hot. Temps should be 35-55, depending on load. Replace your heatsink thermal paste with Artic Silver5 and/or buy2 new HS/F's like the Zalman vf700's. Its worth it too invest in a couple aftermarket HS/fs to protect those video cards.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 03:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Default

The cards were already OC when i got them, and i just left them. Also i have never replaced a heatsink on a GPU before vaderpro. I would have no idea on where to start. if you could tell me how to do it or post a link that would be helpful that would be great! thank you in advance
mastercheif1231 is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 03:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

It's pretty simple. Here's a quick run through of how to replace it: http://www.virtual-hideout.net/revie...1/index2.shtml
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 08:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Just remove your video cards. Then remove the old fan assembly. Clean off the contact point and apply the new thermal paste. They also come with instuctions. Shut off your system, touch the case before you touch the computer components.....

Youll need 2 of these:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835118117

and

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835100007
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 02:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Default

my only question is that i have about maybe a 2 inch gap between the two gpu's and thats if i take the stock fan off the one on top. sooo... would both fans fit?
mastercheif1231 is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 02:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Default

I have recently got a message from the Easy Tune 5 software that came with my motherboard that said: "ERROR: MarkFun_Load_NT_Driver". What does this mean? Could this be the driver that is causing the problem?
__________________

mastercheif1231 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.