Which GPU? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2013, 08:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xerolen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 278
Send a message via AIM to xerolen Send a message via MSN to xerolen Send a message via Yahoo to xerolen
Default Re: Which GPU?

Only a couple problems with that build.

1. I need the ability to have multiple GPUs.
2. I need to be able to have at least 4 RAM slots.
3. I need PCIe Slots.
4. I need PCI slots.
5. I need more than just 4 SATA connections.
6. I need a lot more USB ports.
7. I later on wanted to go to a Octo-core CPU.

Sorry if it's a long list.
__________________

xerolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 09:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default Re: Which GPU?

You're gonna save up for an 8 core Xeon? FX CPUs aren't 8 cores, they are 4 modules and 8 threads. You can later on go to a 3770k which is faster.

Couple stages up for 74 bucks gives you 2 PCI-E full sized slots, a 1x slot, and a few PCI, 4 DIMM slots, and 6 SATA. No SLI/Crossfire support, but better to have a faster single card anyways. A 750w PSU won't do SLI 480s anyways, especially not with any AMD CPU.

Edit: It'll do Crossfire, but the second card will be limited to the 4x slot.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 09:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xerolen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 278
Send a message via AIM to xerolen Send a message via MSN to xerolen Send a message via Yahoo to xerolen
Default Re: Which GPU?

Again I can't change it. The person has already purchased it.
xerolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 10:04 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default Re: Which GPU?

Sucks for them. Quite confusing with you talking about your 7770 and a 480 that you already own going to a different rig that somebody else is buying.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 10:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xerolen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 278
Send a message via AIM to xerolen Send a message via MSN to xerolen Send a message via Yahoo to xerolen
Default Re: Which GPU?

I know. The person bought it for me as a present. I already own both the 7770 and the 480 I just don't know which I want to put into the new rig.
xerolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 10:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default Re: Which GPU?

Ohhh, well then that kinda sucks for you. Just put the 480 in the FX rig, then I would sell the dual Xeon setup (Workstations can go for a lot of money still) and snag a Haswell setup when they come out in June.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 11:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xerolen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 278
Send a message via AIM to xerolen Send a message via MSN to xerolen Send a message via Yahoo to xerolen
Default Re: Which GPU?

Haswell?
xerolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 11:08 PM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default Re: Which GPU?

The architecture that succeeds Ivy Bridge. 4570k and a Z87 board should be about the same price as IB, maybe slightly inflated. 10% gain over IB and less power usage. Talking 55w CPUs vs the almost 200 that 6100 is going to suck.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 11:12 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xerolen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 278
Send a message via AIM to xerolen Send a message via MSN to xerolen Send a message via Yahoo to xerolen
Default Re: Which GPU?

Wow. How much would a haswell rig run up?
__________________

xerolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ati, gpu, gtx 480, nvidia, radeon hd 7770

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.