Got A Q about PCIE X16 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2005, 07:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 35
Default Got A Q about PCIE X16

Well im getting a graphic card really soon.And i wanted to know is the PCIE x16 slot black or is the white?Cause in my computer i only see the white PCIE slots.Im planing to get a 7800

Ps i have a sony PCV-RS724G
__________________

Zero2256 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 07:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

If all the slots look like this:
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi.../Pci-slots.jpg

...and none like this...
http://images.crucial.com/images/pci...s_callouts.jpg

...then you don't have PCI-E, and can forget about that 7800 for now....
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 07:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 35
Default

i have a sony PCV-RS724G what would be the best graphic card i can put in it that i can buy at a store like best buy or frys or somewere?
Zero2256 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 07:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

This is probably the best GFX card you can get:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814145087

Best Buy and Wal Mart have them, but they are ~$30 more for a lesser card.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 07:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 35
Default

Man that's crap
Zero2256 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 07:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 35
Default

I think i have pcie tho beacause i no pci bus dosent work
Zero2256 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 08:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 35
Default

can some check if i have PCIE cause the case is easy to get off but really hard to get on.THX!
Zero2256 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 08:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

www.crucial.com/systemscanner

will tell you what you have
__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 11:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 35
Default

Dude it say i have agp slots but i no i dont have any =[i really need some help to find the best graphic card for my computer
Zero2256 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 11:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

ok, 4 post ago you didnt know what you had.. now you are sure you dont have AGP... btw, read the guidelines to the hardware section... no double posting
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.