Is this a good upgrade? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2016, 06:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Usa
Posts: 16
Default Re: Is this a good upgrade?

Okay, sorry first time using this forum! So if I upgrade my board and ram then I can get the i3 but if I wanted to get the m.2 I would have to get the more expensive board? How different would it be if I didn't get the m.2 and stuck with the sandisk?
__________________

Jrod_34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 06:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,308
Default Re: Is this a good upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrod_34 View Post
Okay, sorry first time using this forum! So if I upgrade my board and ram then I can get the i3 but if I wanted to get the m.2 I would have to get the more expensive board? How different would it be if I didn't get the m.2 and stuck with the sandisk?
You don't exactly need an M.2 SSD, it's just nice to have because you don't have extra cable clutter in your case. An M.2 SATA SSD like the Samsung 850 EVO M.2 for instance compared to the Sandisk will perform exactly the same to the naked eye. You just won't have the ability to grab a faster PCI-E SSD later. That bit is entirely up to you whether it's worth it or not and not really necessary. Was just a suggestion I put out there not knowing what kind of budget you're working with.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 07:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Usa
Posts: 16
Default Re: Is this a good upgrade?

Intel Core i3-6100 Skylake Processor 3.7GHz 8.0GT/s 3MB LGA 1151 CPU, Retail m

Is that the same one you are talking about?
Jrod_34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 07:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,308
Default Re: Is this a good upgrade?

Yes, scroll up I have linked 3 items needed for the platform.

In case you're trying to Google, here's a gaming review with the 8320 in it.

http://www.techspot.com/review/1087-...cpu/page4.html
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 07:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Usa
Posts: 16
Default Re: Is this a good upgrade?

Well yes I know you listed them but the one you listed is I think $124 and the one I listed is only $110

Edit.

And no I believe you and believe you know what you're talking about, I'm just trying to find the cheapest price for the parts you said
Jrod_34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 07:20 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,308
Default Re: Is this a good upgrade?

You can't link things due to your amount of posts, so all it says is i3 6100. If you get a tray/OEM processor you will need to buy a cooler with it. What I linked comes with a cooler. There are other places that sell the same item, just make sure what you get has the cooler too or else you're adding cost for nothing.

As a note, take a look at how the i3 still stays ahead of the 8320 even when the 8320 is overclocked to 4.6Ghz. It's a great little chip. Of course, if you really can't afford it or can't justify it enough the 8320 is still good enough to game like you want with the RX 480. I'm just trying to get you in a position to where when you need more power you have the ability to upgrade easily instead of being stuck.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 07:26 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Usa
Posts: 16
Default Re: Is this a good upgrade?

BX80662I36100 Intel Core i3-6100 Skylake Processor 3.7GHz 8.0GT/s 3MB LGA 1151 CPU, Retail - Intel Core i5 & i3 - SuperBiiz.com

Can you check it to make sure it's good?
And I understand that you're trying to put me in a position to upgrade in the future and I appreciate it
Jrod_34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 07:41 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Usa
Posts: 16
Default Re: Is this a good upgrade?

It says the part # is i3-6100BOX

Edit.

Also you could just copy and past the full name for it in google and the site is superbiiz

Edit.

So that means it's boxed and boxed means it comes with one right
Jrod_34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 08:56 PM   #19 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Is this a good upgrade?

Retail means it has the cooler.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 09:04 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Usa
Posts: 16
Default Re: Is this a good upgrade?

Thank you
__________________

Jrod_34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
components, upgrade

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good morning! And in case I don't see ya, good afternoon, good evening, and good night! b1gapl Off Topic Discussion 11 08-26-2013 02:09 AM
upgrade proccessor or upgrade ram? j12 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 11-11-2006 07:16 PM
hmm...to upgrade slightly, or to upgrade seriously? dartgande New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-17-2006 03:36 AM
to upgrade or to not upgrade? liquidmonkey New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-13-2006 11:41 PM
If i upgrade my processor i think i need to upgrade my power supply Too! MADWAD New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-29-2005 01:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.