Good system for under $300? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2007, 10:25 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Good system for under $300?

3rd commandment from Techies Bible:

3. Thou shall not skimp on thy power supply.

Need we say more?
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 01:03 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Good system for under $300?

Don't buy a small hard drive. Just go for the Seagate Barracuda 250gb that's going for ~$60 now...Seagate is a very nice HD company with a great warranty and your 80 or 160gb hds are going to be almost as much.

Edit: And Cheap Psu = Broken Psu = Broken PC = Something fun for the trash man to haul away
__________________

__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 01:12 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Good system for under $300?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brinson View Post
Don't buy a small hard drive. Just go for the Seagate Barracuda 250gb that's going for ~$60 now...Seagate is a very nice HD company with a great warranty and your 80 or 160gb hds are going to be almost as much.

Edit: And Cheap Psu = Broken Psu = Broken PC = Something fun for the trash man to haul away
very true, and logisys has horrible PSU's had one on my old Athlon XP system, and it went bad and damaged the entire system........
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 01:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Good system for under $300?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brinson View Post
Don't buy a small hard drive. Just go for the Seagate Barracuda 250gb that's going for ~$60 now...Seagate is a very nice HD company with a great warranty and your 80 or 160gb hds are going to be almost as much.

Edit: And Cheap Psu = Broken Psu = Broken PC = Something fun for the trash man to haul away
ok take all your words on the PSU's

as for the hard drive. its not necessary for a 160gb. this dell has a 40gb and even with my sisters music they havent used even 10gb of it.
mgcook is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 03:00 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Good system for under $300?

If I was the one doing this, I would take the 2 year old Dell, and take out the Celeron, and put a Pentium in it, and add RAM.

If they are using it for such mundane tasks, it would probably be fine even with the Celeron. What is it SPECIFICALLY about the computer that makes it a POS?? My guess would be that it takes a while to boot up, and takes forever for things to load... I would say probably due to such a low amount of RAM, and spyware/malware if there is a kid using it.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 03:27 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Good system for under $300?

yeah it takes for ever to load everything. the start menu even takes a good 10 seconds to load.


i was thinking i could take the HD out of this one, and the CD burner and use the extra money on a video card, better case, or more memory.
mgcook is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 03:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Good system for under $300?

Have you run virus scan, and malware/spyware scans? If nothing else, what I would do, is backup the important data, and format the HDD and re-install the OS.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 03:52 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Good system for under $300?

u said u that 256mb ram on XP? that might cause things to be a bit laggy... if u have xp i recommend atleast 512mb, for it to even be usable..... gamer's need like 1gb atleast, lol i only have 768mb xD haha
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 04:54 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Good system for under $300?

I second the post a couple above.

Put in a pentium 4 chip, add 1gb of relatively fast ram, reformat the machine...

It will run soooooooo much faster.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 06:11 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Good system for under $300?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethereal_Dragon View Post
Have you run virus scan, and malware/spyware scans? If nothing else, what I would do, is backup the important data, and format the HDD and re-install the OS.
yeah i keep regular spyware/malware scans on it. spysweeper, ad-aware, spybot, and AVG for virus protection
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
know any good games that run on this system? veg1992 PC Gaming 5 07-02-2007 08:40 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Here... A really good system for a sub-1000$ budget veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 05-27-2007 04:17 AM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.