WHich is a good RAM company?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2006, 08:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to SaedG89
Default WHich is a good RAM company??

Hey guys i need your guys' advice on which RAM company to get. I currently have 1gb and am willing to upgrade to 2 gigs. Im looking for a DDR2, PC5400, and 667. which company do you guys recomend and why??
__________________

SaedG89 is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 08:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

OCZ, Kingston, and Crucial
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 09:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Don't forget Corsair and G.Skill.

Or do they only make DDR ram?
cyrax is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 10:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

No they make DDR2, aswell.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 10:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to SaedG89
Default

thanks guys, but wat are the diffrent types of DDR2 like dual channel, etc. What is that??
SaedG89 is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 12:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Dual channel is a feature incorporated on your motherboard, not the ram. You must take 2 identical sticks to run them in dual channel. What dual channel does is it just has the ram work together more efficiently. Here's a better explanation: http://www.devhardware.com/c/a/Memory/Dual-Channel/
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 11:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i would get OCZ or Crucial for DDR2 ram as they seem to be the market leaders.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 12:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 84
Default

Not to be picky, SaedG89, but it would help if you would post your signature. We can make better suggestions if we know what components you are using.

If you are going to replace your RAM, I would suggest OCZ or
Crucial.

If you are going to use your existing RAM, then you should try to match it with the same manufacturer's RAM. This is highly recommended.
__________________

__________________
- COOLER MASTER Wave Master TAC-T01-E1C Silver Case
- DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS = latest)
- AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Toledo 1GHz HT 2 x 1MB L2 Cache
- OCZ 2GB (2 X 1024) DDR (500) PC-4000 EL Gold Gamer Ext. XTC (OCZ5002048ELGEGXT-K)
- OCZ PowerStream OCZ520ADJSLI ATX, BTX, EPS12V 520W
- XFX Geforce 7900 GTX 512MB (665/1630)
- HITACHI Deskstar 7K80 80GB 3.5\" SATA 3.0Gb/s x 2 (RAID)
old_geekster50 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.