Is this a good desktop for the price? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2011, 12:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Is this a good desktop for the price?

CyberpowerPC Gamer Ultra 2098 (GU2098) Desktop PC AMD FX-Series FX-4100(3.6GHz) 8GB DDR3 500GB HDD Capacity AMD Radeon HD 6670 1GB Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit


Off newegg for 460 dollars

Sorry if i cant put links for it but here it is. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...BF2011_listing
__________________

Talyor is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 12:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: Is this a good desktop for the price?

CPU could be better, but looks alright, not a bad price.

though with pre-builds always ask yourself, why is this as cheap as it is.

plus your thread title, theres no good answer for that question, the real question is what do you want it for and whats your budget for doing that
__________________

Sheepykins is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 12:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: Is this a good desktop for the price?

I Really wanted an i5 but there was no i5 systems at the time on tigerdirect,newegg,micro center for under 500 dollars so i got this. I just basically wanted to know if it will run bf3 and mw3.
Talyor is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 01:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: Is this a good desktop for the price?

meets the recommended specs for both, more than recommended in most cases
Sheepykins is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 01:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Is this a good desktop for the price?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheepykins View Post
meets the recommended specs for both, more than recommended in most cases
I thought recommended for BF3 was a 6950... it might meet minimum for it.
And personally if I was going AMD I'd get the FX-4100, price-to-performance rocks.

The build is inexpensive because its using a cheap motherboard and power supply; low performance GPU; and guessing the HDD and RAM aren't exactly name brand either.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 02:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: Is this a good desktop for the price?

i keep seeing ati x1950 as the minimum ati card.... hmm maybe im seeing it wrong, and i doubt it'd be the 6950 lol that card is one of atis higher end 6 series, theyre only just starting on the 7s, or were when i bought my 6 series ati card.

**** it might even be a 6950, i cant remember. is it the one with 2 bios chips on it? lol and you can flash one with the 6970 bios and get a little more performance out of it !

i have a large card somewhere. but yeah, they cant price people out like that it especially on pc
Sheepykins is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 10:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Is this a good desktop for the price?

Battlefield 3 system requirements - Battlefield 3
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 10:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: Is this a good desktop for the price?

there you go, ati 3000 series recommended card
Sheepykins is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 10:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Is this a good desktop for the price?

That's a high-end ATI 3000 series. And that is bare minimum.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 11:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: Is this a good desktop for the price?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheepykins View Post
**** it might even be a 6950, i cant remember. is it the one with 2 bios chips on it? lol and you can flash one with the 6970 bios and get a little more performance out of it

Yeah, I tried that, didn't have much luck, so now I'm stuck with 2 6950's.
__________________

__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a High-res LCD Gaming Monitor - Good value, good price! blayez New Systems | Building and Buying 15 05-31-2008 07:10 PM
any good for its price? Poizen22 Laptops and Notebooks 4 05-08-2008 10:45 PM
I need a really good case for a good price ingeborgdot System Upgrades 0 11-04-2005 06:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.