Is this a good decision? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2006, 10:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Question Is this a good decision?

I have found a good deal on a Mobo and CPU (I think)

Mobo: MSI K8MM3-V
CPU: AMD 64 2800+

Its Socket 754 and its $163, I do live in Australia so think are more expensive here.

Heres the URL

http://pinnacleonline.com.au/commerc...roducts_id=300

What do you think. Its a big leap from my Xp 1800+ and has AGP 8x (My mobo now has 4x). I am building a E6600 with 7900GTX in feb. I do have some spare cash laying around. What do you think.

And also what is that Mobo like for OC-ing
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 10:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

I'd say go for it, It seems worth it. I don't know the pricing differences though so I can't really be of that much help. However, on a different note, you should be able to push your 1800+ more, I had mine up to 1.92GHz no problem.
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 10:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

Yea i have it on 1.723 stable but my Motherboard is so crap i can only Oc through FSB so... Since the 2800+ is 1.8 Ghz would it be better than a Xp 2200+ which is at 1.8Ghz?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 10:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Yes.

Athlon XP is 32-bit and less power, while the Athlon 64 is 64-bit and has way more power. The Ghz means nothing.

Heck, even my Athlon 64 3500 only runs at 2.2 Ghz.
talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.