Good deal? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2006, 10:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 96
Default Good deal?

I recently bought a laptop. Here are the specs:

Intel® Core™ Duo Processor T2400 (1.83GHz/667MHz FSB)
17 inch UltraSharp™ Wide Screen UXGA Display with TrueLife™
1GB Shared Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHz
256MB NVIDIA® GeForce™ Go 7900 GS
60GB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive
Genuine Windows® XP Media Center Edition 2005
80 WHr 9-cell Lithium Ion Primary Battery
24X CD Burner/DVD Combo Drive
ntegrated 10/100 Network Card and Modem
Also purchased a carrying case for the laptop. ($45)

All this cost me a total of roughly $1350 after taxes + environmental fees. Do you think this was a good buy or was it a bit overpriced? Also do you think this systen will run those games such as BF2 on max without lag?Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Time passes, will you?

AMD Athlon 64 3300+ 2.4 Ghz
2GB DDR 3200 SDRAM
160 GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Nvidia Geforce 6200
jk88 is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 11:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

its good, the GPu is good, but the HD is argueable.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 12:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 261
Default

Not a good deal for the price.
wiouxev is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 12:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 261
Default

oohhh this is a LAPTOP

well its decent--still not good

look at acer.com

or newegg

can get about the sameish for ~700 at newegg, and simply BETTER at around the same price at acer
wiouxev is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 12:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 96
Default

I did check newegg and acer but they didnt offer the kind of specs that I got for this laptop. In newegg the only thing i found around that price range was a core duo with a nice HD but not so good ati graphics card.

Also about the HD, how much space are you actually left with when using it? (Recovery files, etc...)
__________________
Time passes, will you?

AMD Athlon 64 3300+ 2.4 Ghz
2GB DDR 3200 SDRAM
160 GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Nvidia Geforce 6200
jk88 is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 04:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

For me this seems a nice deal, but im no laptop pro...
yes this system should run games without a problem you have a nice GPU and a pretty nice CPU for laptops, however for this much you could have bought it brand new [if it isnt...]

About 'how much I have space you actually left with ..."
to begin with take 4.2 GiB [Following this post in the bottom of that post you can read about the true amount of bytes within a GiB]
So you actualy have 55.8 GiB in it, then take off like 2GiB just for the windows [so I remember it is..] and programs would sum up for another 2GiB [if you'r a standard user] thats another 4GiB, so.. 51.8GiB +/- left....... games, videos, etc.. you know what you have for the rest, lol.

Well anyway I'd suggest you get a better HD because 5.4k RPM is pretty low for nowdays..

I still think this is a fine computer for an OK price.
Yoad is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 02:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 96
Default

Ok thanks for the info. As for the HD, unfortunately I cant upgrade it as I already ordered it. Well, I hope it is enough to get me by.
__________________
Time passes, will you?

AMD Athlon 64 3300+ 2.4 Ghz
2GB DDR 3200 SDRAM
160 GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Nvidia Geforce 6200
jk88 is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 02:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

You won't be able to burn DVD's, unfortunately.

Is it an Acer, Toshiba, HP?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 04:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 96
Default

It is a dell. I knew when i bought the laptop that it didnt have dvd burning capabilties. Fortunately my desktop does. But do you think that 60GB HD might be enough for college use and some gaming?
__________________
Time passes, will you?

AMD Athlon 64 3300+ 2.4 Ghz
2GB DDR 3200 SDRAM
160 GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Nvidia Geforce 6200
jk88 is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 05:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

You could fit quite alot on the HD, providing you keep system restore set to 3%.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.