Is this a good computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2005, 02:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 166
Default Is this a good computer?

http://www.compusa.com/products/prod...392&pfp=SEARCH

^Thats the link. Im wondering if that will play games? And if it will be just a good overall pc.^


~ Please Look down......
__________________

mdogg1108 is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 02:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

NO.
It has an AMD Sempron, which is no good for gaming.
It also uses onboard video, which is a no no.
Just get about $700 then you can make this:

CPU- AMD64 3000- $140
Mobo- MSI K8N Neo-F- $80
Ram- Patriot 1GB (512x2)- $75
Hard Drive- Seagate SATA 80GB- $60
DVD Burner- NEC Dual Layer- $45
Video Card- eVGA 6600 GT PCI-E- $115 (after mail in rebate)
Case- AMS CF-1089BK- $35
Power Supply- Thermaltake 430W- $30 (after mail in rebate)
OS- Windows XP Pro Upgrade- $80

Total- $660

This system will kill that Compaq and will play most of the games on the market today.
__________________

persianxballer is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 08:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 166
Default

ok thanks just wonderingg
__________________
<a href=http://profile.xfire.com/mdogg1108><img src=http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/mdogg1108.png width=450 height=34></a>
mdogg1108 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 09:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 166
Default

Any other opinions on that computer?. I know you all might hate me for this but im looking for a pre-built cpu that could play games. If someone could find me one i would be happy :-).
__________________
<a href=http://profile.xfire.com/mdogg1108><img src=http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/mdogg1108.png width=450 height=34></a>
mdogg1108 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 09:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default

yea that pre-built computer is no good. im confused why the L2 cache is 128 KB, thats real low.
I read on these forums that ppl said www.monarchcomputer.com was a good site for pre-built computers. I havnt got anything from this site so i dont know how good it is.
__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 09:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 166
Default

Ok thanks for the help. Always looking for more help from anyone. Im going to look on that website. Thx again.
__________________
<a href=http://profile.xfire.com/mdogg1108><img src=http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/mdogg1108.png width=450 height=34></a>
mdogg1108 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 09:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

If you have to get a pre-built check out:

www.monarchcomputer.com
www.ibuypower.com
www.cyberpowersystem.com

other companies like voodoo, falcon northwest, velocity. These are a bit more expensive though.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 09:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 166
Default

If anyone would like to help me find one because i dont really know whats good i would really like that. Anything that would play games and under 500$.
__________________
<a href=http://profile.xfire.com/mdogg1108><img src=http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/mdogg1108.png width=450 height=34></a>
mdogg1108 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 09:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 166
Default

Thanks for the sites guys but i was wondering if someone could give me a link to a good cpu. Im not so good with finding things because i dont really have a clue about finding good cpu's
__________________
<a href=http://profile.xfire.com/mdogg1108><img src=http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/mdogg1108.png width=450 height=34></a>
mdogg1108 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 09:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 166
Default

ok i think i found something good on cyberpower and wondering if someone thinks its good. I think i might be able to get it if its good.

Will it be good for gaming?

(Its on the front page)


• AMD Athlon™ 64 3200+ CPU
• nForce4 Chipset MBoard
• 512MB Dual Channel DDR400
• 80GB 7200RPM SATA150 Hard Drive
• NVIDIA GeForce 6200 256MB Turbo Cache 16X PCI Express
• Combo Drive (52x CDRW + 16X DVD)
• AC97 3D Wave Surround Sound
• 600Watt Subwoofer Speakers
• NZXT Nemesis Metal Case 420Watt w/ "See-Thru" Window
__________________

__________________
<a href=http://profile.xfire.com/mdogg1108><img src=http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/mdogg1108.png width=450 height=34></a>
mdogg1108 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.