is this a good case? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2006, 10:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 62
Default is this a good case?

hey guys im in the process of building my first pc. im wating for the release of conroe befroe i decide to go intel or amd.
so im in search of a new case and psu right now,i live in canada so i would perfer to purchase from canadian sites only to save on duty and shipping

i would like a case that uses 120mm fans to have good air flow and keep in nice and quiet, looks are not important,
is this a good case, and if not what do you guys recomend
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...965272&CatId=0

i need something to house:
2 cd drives
1 fan controler
1 multi card reader
2 harddrives
then graphics card,and possably soundcard

bacily i have about 130 to spend on a case and psu, i have read that most psu's that are included with cases are crap so i have no idea where to start with psu's

please help a noob out
__________________

hofulstrof is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 10:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

First question, does it have to be mid-tower?
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 10:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

You can use that case.

But for all those components, consider getting a good PSU with it. At least 450W.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 11:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Snake-Eyes
First question, does it have to be mid-tower?
nope, as long as it can hold all of the componets, i listed i dont realy care what size it is or what it looks like.

i was looking for a psu that put out between 400-500watts

how about this one?
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...re=THERMALTAKE
hofulstrof is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 12:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I would highly recommend this, if you are on a light budget.

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...n%20Technology

500 watts, good reviews, its just a little cheap...$40.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 09:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

You can get a Fortron 400 watt for 10 bucks more. I would go with that as opposed to a brand I've never heard of before.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 02:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 62
Default

thanx guys i think ive decided to go with the forton psu and this case
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...acture=Kingwin
__________________

hofulstrof is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.