Is this good? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2006, 08:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to Demortix Send a message via Yahoo to Demortix
Default Is this good?

Alright. this is what im thinking of getting.

Antec TRUEPOWERII TPII-430 ATX12V 430W Power Supply - Retail (64.99) i dont know why its so cheap here and 100$ on the antec site?

eVGA 256-P2-N553-AX Geforce 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail (169.99)

add 12.78 for shipping, and the total is 247.76
not bad. hopefully it will give me what im looking for. cons or pros anyone?

With an Intel Celeron D 3.2Ghz
1.5 Gigs Ram
__________________

Demortix is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 09:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Affirmative.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 09:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Its alright, but must I ask you why Celeron?
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 03:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Yoad
Its alright, but must I ask you why Celeron?
Just an upgrade to his existing Celeron system, a previous thread indicated that he had already bought a Celeron some time ago and wanted to beef it up.
Looks like you should be good, I wouldn't bother with a 7900gt with a Celeron system like yours, the performance increase probably wouldn't be worth the extra $100. I for one would be interested to see some benchmarks when you get everything together as there's not much info on how well Celeron D's perform in games.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 03:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

With 1.5GB RAM, and that 256MB video card, that PC will be flying.

I'm not 100% sure, but i think the new Sempron/Celeron chips are 64-bit.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 05:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to Demortix Send a message via Yahoo to Demortix
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jorsoft03
Just an upgrade to his existing Celeron system, a previous thread indicated that he had already bought a Celeron some time ago and wanted to beef it up.
Indeed, quite right. In hindsight i should have researched my options a bit more, but its late now. Im not that picky though, just want the best for my money. it was only 350 for the prebuilt system, granted im spending about 380 upgrading, but having a decent gaming system for 720 isnt bad. i dont know enough to build my own system. Im glad i desided on the 7600 instead of 7900, it just didnt seem worth the extra 100. Eventualy ill probably (depending on how this setup works) upgrade my CPU, but its all i got right now seeing as i would have to buy a whole new motherboard too. Hopefully with this setup i wont have to dump any money into her for a while. Thanks for Everyones help, i couldnt have made such smart choices without help.

__________________

Demortix is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.