Go for the Dual Channel? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2006, 04:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Default Go for the Dual Channel?

Check this out. My job has some memory on sale for $40. I currently have one in my pc now (its 512 mb corsair) and a 256 meg chip (some crap that came with the pc). If I got another one of the same one I already have, I can have dual channel going on with my pc that will speed everything up a little bit.

Would that be a good idea? Just to let you know, I paid $55 when I bought the first 512 stick and that was with an employee discount. If not, I would have been paying about $110.

* I know my mobo supports dual channel because it prompted me when I first installed the 512 chip but of course, I didn't have a duplicate of that memory.
__________________

Jayj2k1 is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 06:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Go for it.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 11:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

hrmm could someone explain to me how dual channel memory works??
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 12:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

Search the forums or google it NosBoost
__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.