Giving it the once-over - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2011, 10:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Question Giving it the once-over

Hi all,

I am about to construct my first PC from scratch, and have selected the following components:

----------

Case: Asaka Freedom Xone

Power Supply Unit: 430W True Power Silent ATX PSU

CPU: Intel Core i5 661 Socket LGA1156

CPU cooling unit: Zalman CNPS9900A

Motherboard: Asus P7P55D EVO Socket LGA1156

Graphics Card: Asus GeForce GTS450 1GB PCI-Express

RAM: Komputerbay 8GB (2 X 4GB) DDR3 DIMM (240 pin) 1333Mhz

Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5 SATA 6GB Internal

DVD Drive: LiteOn 24x Internal DVDRW SATA

Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium

----------

Would someone with a little more experience than myself be able to go over these and confirm that there are no incompatibilities present?

Many thanks in advance for your kind attention and assistance.
__________________

cwarner7264 is offline  
Old 06-24-2011, 10:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Giving it the once-over

Everything will work.

The PSU looks like a cheap one. Get something like a Corsair or Antec. You need at least 550W with that setup.

I never heard of Komputerbay. I would go with 1600, though. Get G.Skill Ripjaws.

For HDD, Get a Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB. Micj more speed.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-24-2011, 10:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: Giving it the once-over

Goodness that was a quick response!

Possible reason you've never heard of Komputerbay is that I'm on here from the UK :P

I shall certainly take your kind advice on the HDD and the higher wattage requirements, for which many thanks.

However on the RAM, I have purchased from Komputerbay on numerous occasions and have always found their hardware to be top quality - and these come with a lifetime guarantee.

I'm relieved to be told that I've done my homework properly :P

Thank you for your help!
cwarner7264 is offline  
Old 06-24-2011, 10:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Giving it the once-over

I'm on in the morning, (afternoon for you) scouring the forums. I just happened to see your post.

I know of UK branded RAM, but I never heard of that one. But if you used it before and know it works well, go with it!
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-24-2011, 12:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Giving it the once-over

Change your motherboard and cpu to socket 1155. Get a Intel i5 2400, 2500 series cpu instead. The one you have is last gen. parts.
brinks is offline  
Old 06-24-2011, 05:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Giving it the once-over

get this power supply as a minimum

Antec Earthwatts 500Watt Continuous Power ATX Powe - Misco.co.uk
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-27-2011, 03:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Giving it the once-over

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwarner7264 View Post
Possible reason you've never heard of Komputerbay is that I'm on here from the UK :P
I'm in the UK, never heard of Komputerbay before

What budget do you have for this build? You're better off getting a socket 1155 i5, rather than an older 1336 socket one. They're not much more expensive (twenty quid maybe - the old i5s have never come down in price) and are worth the extra.
Edit Ah, brinks already beat me to saying that. But yeah, I agree with him
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i think im giving up on my pc Poizen22 Off Topic Discussion 71 01-27-2009 11:48 AM
giving up on the ps3? aaronkupen Sony Playstation 4 09-21-2006 04:16 PM
DX9.0c giving me the $#!+s PhunkaeG Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-01-2006 04:28 AM
Giving a div tag an id? SovietX Programming 1 04-14-2005 11:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.