gfx card replacement gone haywire - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2008, 02:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default gfx card replacement gone haywire

typing this on ps3,sry 4 shortness
replacing 7900gt w/ x1950. 7900gt is fried. computer boots except for 3-4 beeps @ post instead of one.
no video at all w x1950 installe. 1950 gets very hot.
ithink it might be driver conflict but how do i fix w/o video!
thx
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 11:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default Re: gfx card replacement gone haywire

Ok, I'm on a real computer now, i can give more details....

So there is no signal going to the monitor at all. The monitor just sits in power save mode the whole time.

The fan on the new gfx card works which leads me to believe i hooked up the power correctly.

I figured i could at least get into VGA mode or safe mode to change up the drivers, but no luck.

My Rig:
MoBo: MSI K8 Neo4-F (PCB 3.0)
Ram: Kingston value select 2GB
Proc: AMD 3800+ X2
PSU: Antec TruPower 550W
HD: OS - 36GB Raptor
Media - 500 GB Seagate
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 02:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 106
Default Re: gfx card replacement gone haywire

A fresh install of windows has a default graphics driver on it, so that it should be able to recognize the monitor to set up the rest of the stuff. That leads me to believe that it's something else.

Check to make sure you pushed the cable in far enough on the port. Also, you can try the onboard graphics and see if you get similar or different results.
rkagin is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 02:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default Re: gfx card replacement gone haywire

i thought it would go to default VGA graphics w/o a fresh install.

No onboard graphics with my msi board i would have done that already.

I would have done the reinstall of windows, but i'm not getting anything out my my gfx card right now. it doesnt show the msi logo, no memory check, no windows load screen, nada. but it sounds like it is going through the boot sequence, just w/o the video output.

at this rate, i figure if i try and reinsall windows, it isnt going to display it. i cant even see my bios.
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 06:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: gfx card replacement gone haywire

Check your RAM. May sound strange but faulty RAM can produce 3-4 system beeps and display no video
[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 07:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default Re: gfx card replacement gone haywire

i'll give it a try when i get home. i assume you mean make sure its installed properly... i'll pop it out and put it back in... maybe try one at a time incase a stick got fried
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 07:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: gfx card replacement gone haywire

Yep try each stick at a time. Also give them a clean with an eraser, rub the gold contacts on the bottom of the RAM, and also clean the slots out with a brush
[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 07:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: gfx card replacement gone haywire

well if he's getting no display then fresh installing windows is near impossible, I havnt seen anything written about possibly trying your old GPU to chen that the PCI-E slot isn't fried as well, I doubt its a ram failure unless you have been extremely unlucky.
Nick is offline  
Old 08-12-2008, 10:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default Re: gfx card replacement gone haywire

i messed with the ram... nothing worked. i hope its not the mobo...
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 08-12-2008, 12:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: gfx card replacement gone haywire

have you tried ur old card ?
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
Need Everybody's Help with Video Card Whirlwind New Systems | Building and Buying 23 04-07-2008 06:17 PM
Updating graphics card driver properly. Help! general.rule Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-25-2008 08:55 PM
Computer with new HD doesn't recognize graphics card Naeco Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-26-2008 04:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.