Getting a windows 98 to join a network that is already setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2006, 01:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to william232
Default Getting a windows 98 to join a network that is already setup

I have a windows 98 second edition which is a computer i am working on the past several weeks ive tried to follow some tutorals of setting up a home network with a windows 98 but how do i get it to join a network that already exists? how can i do this?
__________________

william232 is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 03:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

what sort of network do you want? is it networking with other 98 computers? do you only want it for the purpose of file sharing?
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 04:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to william232
Default

It will be networking with other computers that have windows xp is this still Possible? What it will be used is a personal webserver for me to learn how to host my own webserver to host my own websites
william232 is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 06:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well i'm not exactly a networking pro. i don't know how to help you with the webserver :/ just the basic filesharing/internet connection sharing etc home networks. yes you can network between XP and 98
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 06:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to william232
Default

Can anyone else help me with this then please thanks for your help anyway man i do appreciate it
william232 is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 08:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

find the IP addresses of the XP machines
start, run -> "cmd"
type "ipconfig" in the black window, press enter

manually assign a similar IP to the 98 machine
for example, if the XP machines use 192.168.0.X, use 192.168.0.X in the 98 machine too (but you can't make IP's completely the same)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 08:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well you can use DHCP, make sure the computers are all in the same worgroup if you are networking via workgroups. i'm not familiar with domains though. you may have to run the network setup wizard from the XP disc on the 98 computer.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 09:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I find that it is much easier to manually assign an IP on a 98 machine to get it on a network. at least with peer to peer networks.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 04:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to william232
Default

How do i change the ip is that through internet options in either internet explorer?
__________________

william232 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.