getting these components, good idea? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2006, 11:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Default getting these components, good idea?

im on a tight budget so this is what ive come up with thatll give me some upgrading possiblity for the future. what i want to know is if ill run into any compatability problems putting this together. if so what would be a better solution, or possibly cheaper part to get that wont be a sacrifice on quality.

Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 Conroe 1.86GHz LGA 775 Processor

ASUS P5W DH DELUXE/WIFI-AP Socket T (LGA 775) Intel 975X ATX Intel Motherboard

CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Desktop Memory

Rosewill RD500-2-DB ATX V2.2 500W Power Supply
__________________

click44 is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 11:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

what are you gonna be using your pc for?
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 11:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrAzY_GaMeR_07


Rosewill RP550-2 ATX 2.01 550W Power Supply

Promo Code: AFCRP550

$10 doallers off Instantly
10 bucks off a slightly stronger PSU, same brand.

I'd also recommend 2 gigs(ram)- its always worth it and dual cores need extra memory for full potential, a gig is "just enough".
__________________
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 07:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Default

mainly for high definition audio editing/rendering/sequencing.
click44 is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 10:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to noEMO
Default

Well if you're using it for audio, what sound card do you plan on getting?
noEMO is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 11:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Default

i have a lynxone from my previous setup. its pci. do these parts i listed seem like a good choice. what kind of problems will i face? can i oc it with the stock parts?
click44 is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 12:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

you can get lemons no matter what brand.... the parts will works together and should do you well... I would upgrade the ram when you have the change though... 2GB is becoming the standard no-a-days and will be so when future OS's come out.
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.