Getting a OLD PC maxed out - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2007, 07:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default Getting a OLD PC maxed out

Hi guys,

I have a OLD PC that I found and would love to max this out and see what it can do for as cheap as I can.

The moherboard is a:
IWill KA266-R Ver1.3

I think the CPU is a 1.2ghz AMD but I am not 100% sure as I have not found where to find this info (Dumb i know )

I only have 256MB of ram which is PC2100 DDR SDRAM Dimm inside of it.

I also have a OLD GFX card which is a Nvidia 32MB (It has AM64E1T-32M on the back) I have no idea of what it is.

I also have a basic audio card which I think is broke as I can not get a mic to work on it (For VOIP)

Apart from that it is all basic stuff.

I would like to max the ram which I think can go up too 3GB but I am not sure of which to buy....

I would also like to use the AGP slot for a nice cheap gfx card and maybe have a nice audio card for the PCI.

it will be using Ubuntu ot Xubuntu depending on how they run... I have Xubuntu on it now and it runs nice... But I would love to just see how cheap I can make this run and max it out.

Also maybe a nice silent PSU as the one I have make a lot of noise and that is a ST-350ATX.

One main thing I need to upgrade is the Hard Drive which I ripped out of a 486 which is only 4.5GB in size

I have ordered a Wireless Wifi card which said it works fine with linux. This cost me £15 and is all I have spent so far.

I also have a CRT Compaq P75 which is fine I think... For now anyway.

If anyone can help me on things I should buy and spec of things it would be great!

Thanks for reading, Da
__________________

DaFunks is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 07:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: Getting a OLD PC maxed out

well pc100 ram are obsolete and probably there won't be any 1G or 512mb there might be a 256 but check to see if your motherboard supports specific amount of RAM. too much ram will just be refused by the motherboard so if you can get that info you will know how much ram you can add onto it.
__________________

__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 07:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Getting a OLD PC maxed out

I have read it can take up to 3GB and it has 3 slots so 1GB per slot. Sorry I did have a typo it is PC2100 DDR SDRAM.... Sorry
DaFunks is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 08:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Thumbs up Re: Getting a OLD PC maxed out

If all you are going to do is surf the web and basic word processing....get 512mb ram and 40g hd. I wouldn't spend more money on that system.

Good luck
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 08:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Getting a OLD PC maxed out

Do you think buying the ram off a place like ebay would be just as expensive as buying 512 as it would be buying 3GBs if it is from a shop? It is quite old ram... and if it is only 5 quid more i would liek to max it.

I know it is not a top of the range (Anything but) but it is sort of a project for me to see if i can make a old computer run a nice system like Ubuntu and be as fast as my other top notch PC.

It wuld be mostly used for Browsing the net, downloading from Usenet, Using image software, running a blog and maybe playing some basic Linux games.

Also it would be used by my girlfriend for Typing and using a excel type program.
DaFunks is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 05:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: Getting a OLD PC maxed out

with all of this stuff to get you're better off building a brand new pc
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 05:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Getting a OLD PC maxed out

I would buy this Ultra 512MB PC2100 DDR 266MHz Memory ULT30086 at TigerDirect.com for $30, keep your 256 and have 768mb total ram, should be more than enough.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 05:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Getting a OLD PC maxed out

Wait...you said DDR SDRAM...I could be wrong...but I believe it has to be either SDRAM or DRR, but I could be wrong...I haven't bought SDRAM in years...
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 06:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Getting a OLD PC maxed out

Quote:
Originally Posted by san21893 View Post
with all of this stuff to get you're better off building a brand new pc
Can I ask why? This PC is free and all I really need is ram which is going to cost me about 20 and a hard drive (Not sure but cheap) and also a basic 64MB-128MB gfx card.

i think ill be spending about 80 maybe a bit more.
__________________

DaFunks is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI P6N-SLI FI FSB Maxed? BennyV04988 Overclocking and Modding 4 03-26-2007 11:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.