getting back into gaming... help me upgrade! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2009, 10:17 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 34
Default Re: getting back into gaming... help me upgrade!

That RAM is faster, but it's the same price. How does it hold up to overclocking? I've never used G. Skill before. I know Crucial Ballistix overclocks very well.
__________________

cinaibur is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 10:29 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: getting back into gaming... help me upgrade!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cinaibur View Post
That RAM is faster, but it's the same price. How does it hold up to overclocking? I've never used G. Skill before. I know Crucial Ballistix overclocks very well.
That's not true anymore (about Crucial Ballistix anyways), most of their chips are now not D9 Micron (which was what made them great) and usually you get a very crappy pair which are usually not even stable at stock.


G-Skill however is becoming a big player in the RAM market (well on the Enthusiast side anyways)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-09-2009, 09:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: getting back into gaming... help me upgrade!

G.Skill and OCZ are both good names when it comes to ram. Their high performance models are pretty good, and OCZ makes (or at least did when i got my ram) mid range ram with Micron D9gmh's.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 07-09-2009, 10:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: getting back into gaming... help me upgrade!

Wintec AmpX too also uses D9 Microns
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 02:45 AM   #15 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Washington. No, no, like the state.
Posts: 81
Default Re: getting back into gaming... help me upgrade!

I can vouch for the G.Skill, been using it for my last two builds after using Corsair in my old old stuff (when it was just budget sticks) and OCZ more recently. Had 4 gigs of 800 running at 1066 stable on a gigabyte UD4P, and now have 8 gigs at 800 due to the AMD memory controller issue. Plus there is still 4 gigs@800 running strong in my last build I sold to a friend. No doa or dead after stress sticks so far... knock on wood =]
Thilly is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 03:32 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: getting back into gaming... help me upgrade!

A 512MB 4870 will perform very well and not cost heaps
Newegg.com - XFX HD-487A-YHFC Radeon HD 4870 512MB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thilly View Post
Had 4 gigs of 800 running at 1066 stable on a gigabyte UD4P, and now have 8 gigs at 800 due to the AMD memory controller issue.
What CPU do you use?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a Personal Gaming Computer. Budget: $600.00-800.00 centcuse New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-10-2009 12:34 AM
Buying my first gaming pc. Plz let me know what you think about my choices. Brodom System Upgrades 19 02-19-2009 09:19 PM
Better Gaming Rig? Amd Or Intel? jk5billion System Upgrades 5 11-15-2008 03:25 AM
The many versions of XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-26-2008 02:54 PM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.