General Computer Building Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

dagger576

Baseband Member
Hey Guys! I've been a lurker on the forums for a while now and I'm finally getting to the point where I'm about ready to start coming up with a build for a new computer. This is my first attempt at building a computer from scratch, so I'm a little nervous about the whole process. Just some background info: I'll be working with a budget of 600-700 dollars, and plan on using the computer for some gaming and video editing. WoW will be one I play of course, but I'd also love to be able to play some newer titles at 1280x1024 with the settings pretty close to maxed. I plan on posting the build I come up with here and submit it for your approval, but before I get to that point, I had a few questions...

AMD or Intel?

I know the debate of AMD vs. Intel rages on endlessly, but it seems to me that at the moment the majority on this forum are in the AMD side of the camp. I've tried to do a little bit of research but a hard and fast answer seems to vary with the opinion of the authors. The general response I seem to have seen is that AMD delivers more performance for the same amount of money as Intel. Is that an accurate assessment?

Video Card?

Whether it's a Radeon or Nvidia depends on how the above question gets answered, but my question is a general one. When you're looking for a video card, what do you look for? Which numbers are the ones that provide the largest bearing on performance? I'm assuming as with most things in life, bigger is better, but is that always the case?

General Compatibility?