Geforce FX5500 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2005, 04:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default Geforce FX5500

Hi Everybody,
I just got a new AGP Geforce FX5500 from best buy. This was a totally uninformed buy so now i'm wonderin how it compares to the rest of the Geforce Line. It's still in the plastic wrap so i believe i can take it back for annother one. I got this one for $50 but there was a Geforce 6200 (I think, could have been 6800) for $60. This is just to be able to play games like Halo and BF1942 untill i get the money to build a new computer. Price is a big part so these are the main 2 i'm looking at (unless you find a better one )

Thanks
__________________

Dr Nick is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 05:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Jae
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 245
Default Re: Geforce FX5500

Quote:
Originally posted by Dr Nick
Hi Everybody,
there was a Geforce 6200 (I think, could have been 6800) for $60.

it was a 6200. anyway, all i know is that the FX line from Nvidia pretty much sucks. i say return the 5500 and save up a little more money and invest in a much better card such as a radeon 9600
__________________

Jae is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 05:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 239
Default

The FX 5500 is just a step above the FX 5200 which is the lowest end GeForce card available today. It will run todays games, but you will be dissapointed in its performance in newer ones such as F.E.A.R. and Call of Duty 2. Just take that card back, save, and get at least a 6600 GT. Never buy low-end cards from retail stores, they are ripoffs.
BandwidthHogg is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 05:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default

OK, I guess i have a trip to best buy in the future (i've been told this before, now i've seen it first hand: RETAIL STORE ASSOCIATES SUCK ! He told me this one was better) Well anyway, I think im just gonna get the 6600 (no need to spend big bucks on a card when im gonna spend $300 in the near future )
Dr Nick is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 07:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
Default

Hehe that will suffice for now, it's not the greatest but if you're saving for a future investment then that'll be fine.

That sounds like the kind of advice we get in PCWor** over here He was working on comission anyway, I'm surprised he didn't try to get you to go for the more expensive one.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.ergo-items.com\">www.ergo-items.com - Ergonomic Computer Products</a>
Cobalt is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 08:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

remember to get 6600GT

NOT 6600LE or 6600
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 09:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dr Nick
RETAIL STORE ASSOCIATES SUCK ! He told me this one was better
Retail associates just say what their managers tell them to say. Remember they assume everybody is computer illiterate, and try to sell to that level of people.
BandwidthHogg is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 09:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default Re: Re: Geforce FX5500

Quote:
Originally posted by Jae
it was a 6200. anyway, all i know is that the FX line from Nvidia pretty much sucks. i say return the 5500 and save up a little more money and invest in a much better card such as a radeon 9600
My FX5500 can easily outperform a 9600PRO, it is just has a 20MHZ lower memory clock which I can easily just raise.

First of all, I assume your computer supports AGP, to my knowledge, anything higher than 6200 is not supported by AGP.

Upgrade man, and with a 300 dollar budget you can get a EVGA 7800GT.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 09:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to Reqlis
Default

There are video cards higher than 6200 that support AGP. I want a 60 dollar 6800 haha
Reqlis is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 09:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default

Quote:
That sounds like the kind of advice we get in PCWor** over here He was working on comission anyway, I'm surprised he didn't try to get you to go for the more expensive one.
Oh he did, some $150 one. I think once he figured out i knew what i was talking about he deropped his sales pitch though. Kinda stopped talking and just looked at the boxes on the shelf
__________________

Dr Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.