Geforce 7900 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2006, 07:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 116
Default Geforce 7900

Anyone know if eVGA's 7900 gtx (EGS) can be overclocked to match the superclocked version? Using rivatuner or something....theres not a big difference between the two, but I wanna know before I get the EGS.

Difolo is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 07:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733

Most probably yes, but the overclock is really not worth the it, maybe a 2 fps increase..

|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 08:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847

yea probably, rivatuner or coolbits
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 09:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686

I'm pretty sure it can, actually of course it can
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 01:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 95

Dont you get pretty awesome FPS from a 7900gt anyway? Without overclocking?
Asus A8N SLI Deluxe // AMD64 X2 4400+ Toledo // Antec True Power 2.0 550w // Tt Tsunami Case (Silver) // 2GB Nanya DDR400 // Leadtek Geforce 7900GTX 512mb // X2 WD 320GB SATA HDD // Pioneer DVR111D // Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium //
cub1971 is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 02:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905

Yeah, I dunno why people want to overclock something when it already runs things at high specs anyway. Unless you're trying to get high 3dmark scores, just leave it the way it is until you start getting left behind abit in terms of technology.

cyrax is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.