geforce 7600 agp vs geforce 7600 pci-e - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2006, 02:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 36
Default geforce 7600 agp vs geforce 7600 pci-e

i am upgrading from a 6600 gt 128 mb, which one offers the best boost in performance?
__________________

thegame369 is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 02:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

pci-e is newer technology
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 02:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 36
Default

but are we talking about a big difference or just a little one?
thegame369 is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 02:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

I would go for the pci-e, but make sure your motherboard supports it first.
brinks is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 02:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 36
Default

well i am gettin a new motherboard too but i was reading that u need a power supply that supports pci-e?
thegame369 is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 02:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

First off, AGP and PCI-E are interfaces or slots that video cards fit into. They are different sizes, specs, and are NOT compatible with each other.

Second, your upgrade depends on two things:

1) What your motherboard currently supports now (PCI-E or AGP). If it is AGP, then get AGP. If it is PCI-E, then get PCI-E.

2) Or, if you want to go PCI-E(newer technology) and your motherboard does not have a PCI-E slot, then you have to buy a new motherboard. Then you have to worry about your current CPU, etc working with the new motherboard.

PCI-E does support a faster transfer rate between the vid card and the rest of the system. However, that's not to say that the vid card will even fill up either interface's bandwidth.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 02:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by thegame369
well i am gettin a new motherboard too but i was reading that u need a power supply that supports pci-e?
Why don't you tell us what parts you have and what components you are looking to get. This will help us help you more effectively
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 02:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Not all card needs external power, only the power hungry ones do.

If i'm correct, the 7600 does not need external power, it can get it all from the pci-e.
brinks is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 02:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by brinks
Not all card needs external power, only the power hungry ones do.

If i'm correct, the 7600 does not need external power, it can get it all from the pci-e.
PCI-E versions do not require additional power to what is carried in the PCI-E 16x bus. However AGP versions of the 7600 do require additional power via a molex connector.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 02:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 36
Default

my specs at the moment are

geforce 6600gt 128mb
1gig of ram
2.4ghz

and i wanna upgrade to

geforce 7600 pci-e
3ghz

which i am willing to buy a new motherboard for seeing as my current one doesnt support it but this thing about a 350 power supply supported by pci-e needed is bothering me. thats wat it said on the box
__________________

thegame369 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.