GDDR3 vs DDR? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2006, 12:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
Default GDDR3 vs DDR?

The dell techie says i should look for a Video card, with a Rendering Pipelines of 8 Memory Interface - 256 bit, Pixel Fillrate (Gpixels/sec) between 2.6 - 3.3 Memory Clock (MHz) between 580 - 700 .

They say that i cant use a card with GDDR3 memory but i heard that any AGP card will work

my PSU is 460W

dell dim xps gen 2
p4 3.2ghs
2g ram
ATI Radeon 9800XT (is shot and i will be looking to replace)

my computer is a little over 2 years old can i just buy any new card and it will work in my motherboard?
__________________

Petek54321 is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 01:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Dell dumbness strikes again! Did they tell you had to get a card with those specifications, because if so, that's the biggest load of crap I've heard them say in a long time.

Any card AGP card should work provided it is compatible with your slot, and your PSU is up to the task.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 07:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

wth? you can get any kind of agp card
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 08:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
Default

so will this card work in my computer

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130274

i have agp 4x/8x slot and i have 256-bit so will this work in my motherboard no matter what i have a 460 W PSU and previously had an ATI radeon 9800xt
Petek54321 is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 08:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
Default

also, will my computer only handle certain clock speeds because the dell tech said i should look for 500-700 for memory clock

im assuming that is wrong also because it sounds like you guys say he was full of crap
Petek54321 is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 12:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default

why dose dell even have a help hotline? Get whatever card you like.
Mall57 is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 01:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

lol.. no it doesn't have to have that memory speed range..

that 7800gs is good as long as your powersupply can handle it.. which i think it will.. (not 100% sure..)
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 01:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

OMG, I will just mark this as another reason to hate dell. If you have a 4x/8x AGP slot, any 4x/8x AGP will work with the slot regardless what it's specs are. Your PSU should handle a 7800GS fine.
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.