Gateway solo 1200 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2007, 01:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Default Gateway solo 1200

Ok, I do know somewhat about computers, but i have a few questions maybe someone will be willing to gelp me with. I recieved a Gateway solo 1200 series today for free....The CD rom drive on it does not like to open on its on...so I have gently opened it a few times to instal a DSL modem cd...it also doesnt like to run on its own, I have to push slightly on top of the drive itself to get it to play....well all toeghter I would like to replace the drive with a DVD/rw CD/rw drive...any sugestions on what I sound buy? I would also like to upgrade the memory and hard drive curently it has 120mb ram, and a 10 gb hard drive...is it possible for me to upgrade these ..and what is a recomended brand? I understand I can buy external drives is this Ok also? Any help would be appreciated...thankyou.

-R
__________________

Rounder07 is offline  
Old 02-16-2007, 05:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Any NEC or Samsung DVD/RW drive will do (get an IDE model, not SATA).

You can get any IDE hard disk. Seagate and Western Digital are very popular brands.

I would not get an external hard disk. It's gonna be slow as **** (especially if the system doesn't have USB 2.0)
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-17-2007, 01:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Default

so would this be something to look into buying?

Samsung Slim 8x Double Layer DVD+/-RW Drive Bulk w/Software Black SN-S082D/BEBN

Interface: IDE (Ultra ATA/DMA-33)
Type of Drive: DVD+-RW Dual Layer Combination Drive
Internal/External: Internal
System Type: PC
DVD+R DL Speed: 6 X (DVD, DVD-R)
DVD-R DL Speed: 6 X (DVD, DVD-R)

would this work and be easy to instal? would ther be a good place to find docs. on installing cd drives in a lap top on the internet?

thank you for your help.
Rounder07 is offline  
Old 02-17-2007, 02:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default

Dude it doesnt matter its a drive they all do the same thing, just buy it and put it in and thats it.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-17-2007, 08:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Default

yes i understand you are right...but why would i buy something if it is not compatible with my computer...thats why im asking, I would hate to spend my money and time on something that doesnt work.
Rounder07 is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 09:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Just buy a cheap dvd burner, I got an LG dvd burner for 40 bucks about 2 weeks ago.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 09:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 224
Default

If i were you, i would go for USB External components

get a USB HUB
an External hard drive
an External DVD-RW

use the internal 10mb ONLY for the operating system, and the external (size of your choise) as your files ect....

and definately upgrade that ram!
GSM CEO is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 12:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rounder07
yes i understand you are right...but why would i buy something if it is not compatible with my computer...thats why im asking, I would hate to spend my money and time on something that doesnt work.


drives are universal. theyre not like ram or cpus.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.