Gateway FX530 motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2007, 05:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Talking Gateway FX530 motherboard

I’d like to buy "Gateway® FX530XM"

Please refer to the following URL.
Gateway Computers: Home & Home Office - Gateway® FX530

Now, I am going to choose E6420 or E6600 as the CPU. But, around coming August after price cutting of Intel’s CPU, I want to upgrade the CPU to the quad-core CPU, Q6600 or QX6700.

When I try to upgrade the CPU, are there any problems regarding the motherboard/socket?

That is, whether or not I customize, are all FX530 models (from FX530B through FX530XT/ from E4400 through QX6700) equipped with the same motherboard?
__________________

flaxor is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 08:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Gateway FX530 motherboard

From what I can find the motherboard is "4006151R - Intel (Big Arm) 975X Viiv Motherboard", and can do a quad.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 04:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Gateway FX530 motherboard

Trotter,
Thank you for helping
flaxor is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 05:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Gateway FX530 motherboard

No problem. That's why they pay me the big bucks. Now, if they would only give me the check...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 08:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Gateway FX530 motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
No problem. That's why they pay me the big bucks. Now, if they would only give me the check...
lol


any reason y ur not building ur own?
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
motherboard?? Spud5437 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 05-11-2007 04:02 PM
ram failure? or motherboard fried? adamussg Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 05-07-2007 06:13 PM
Intermittent Motherboard -- Bad Capacitor? edvosder Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 04-28-2007 09:52 PM
would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800?????? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-27-2007 10:21 PM
Which motherboard? sguffee New Systems | Building and Buying 9 04-20-2007 12:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.