Gaming rig ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2006, 01:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Default Gaming rig ?

Hi there, im currently looking to upgrade my rig, or buy a new one. First, specs on my current machine -

Athlon XP 1700+
256MB Ram
Geforce 2 Ti64mb,
MSI KT266 *I believe* mobo...

Is there any way to salvage it ? Or should I try to sell it and get a new 64bit processor and 1gb ram ?


Also, where can I find cheaper gaming rigs ??
__________________

Bigboomer is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 02:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I would upgrade completely. Check out www.newegg.com and build one!
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 03:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Meh, im not sure if you can reuse anything. Except the cdroms, hdd's if they are big enough, case maybe.

you can build your own using newegg and zipzoomfly or you can check out monarch customize your own rig.

Whats your new budget ?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Default

With a 1.2 conversion (I think thats the Canadian dollar currently) about $830 USD or $1000 canadian, without monitor (already got it)...

It's all basically bolt together if you buy it in parts correct ??

Is this rig a good deal for $929 Canadian ($774 USD)- http://a-power.com/sys/ap1-gamer.asp
Bigboomer is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 09:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 154
Default

looks like a good start
__________________
3700+ sandiego core
chaintech vnf4 ultra
evga 7800gt
2x1 gig corsair xms
antec tpII 550
80 gig hitachi sata2
win xp pro sp2
ibbonkers is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 09:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Bigboomer
Is this rig a good deal for $929 Canadian ($774 USD)- http://a-power.com/sys/ap1-gamer.asp
That looks like a good rig that should do you quite well EXCEPT the power supply. Antec makes good PSUs but 350 watts is too low for what you will need to run it. You need at least 450 watts that supplies 30A on the 12v rail (s). Whatever you do, don't go cheap on the psu because it is the backbone of every system. See what an upgrade would cost you and then save until you can afford it. Again, I really like the motherboard, the processor, etc., EXCEPT the power supply.
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 09:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GoodNews101
That looks like a good rig that should do you quite well EXCEPT the power supply. Antec makes good PSUs but 350 watts is too low for what you will need to run it. You need at least 450 watts that supplies 30A on the 12v rail (s). Whatever you do, don't go cheap on the psu because it is the backbone of every system. See what an upgrade would cost you and then save until you can afford it. Again, I really like the motherboard, the processor, etc., EXCEPT the power supply.
That antec PSU would run the system, but you couldnt add much to the system.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 10:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

I think building from newegg.com is your best bet. I would reccomend www.ibuypower.com you can customize your rig and its already built. Really good deals too. Although i don't know if you can do that since you are in Canada. You usually buy it in US dollars but i am not positive.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 01:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

upgrade systems not parts. get a skt939 now that they're relatively cheap .
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 11:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

I would get the MSI K8N NEO4-F
AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Corsair valueselect 1GB
eVGA 6800GS
Antec truepower 480W/550W power supply
Any case
80GB hdd or however big sata150
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.