Gaming Rig...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ramsx131

Solid State Member
I found this on craigslist and I was wondering if it was worth it to buy this and upgrade where I can or to start from scratch and build my own, I have never built a computer before but I'll have plenty of free time this summer so I figured why not, if this is a decent buy what would be the best way to upgrade from what it currently has running.

I really only plan to play WoW on it but I will add an occasional game or two to the system...

Intel gaming computer

not a real bad deal at all for $500 considering it does come with a monitor.......the thing you'll want to upgrade is the graphics card most likely....but as is it would play WoW with no problems at all...not on ultra, but still very well

I wouldn't have any problems with buying and upgrading the graphics card on it. Is there any card you would recommend that would make the game look the best that I can get it?

well WoW will never look as good as crysis, you should be able to get pretty close to it's highest settings with that card. If you want to upgrade look at the Nvidia GTX200 series, or ATI HD4800 series cards, preferably an HD4870 or better, but i would stick with the Nvidia cards because the 780i only supports SLI (nvidia only) and not Crossfire for ATI so if you ever wanted to add a second card you could for nvidia, but not ati. The new ultra mode seems to be really buggy and isn't well optimized. i can't even get 25fps in a city with my SLI gtx 260's ........and no the 780i is a nice board, you would be able to put pretty much any card in it right now and it's also socket 775 which supports quad core so you could upgrade the CPU as well on it.