Gaming PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2006, 03:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9
Default Gaming PC

Well, im about to buy a new PC as I am getting more into PC gaming and away from console gaming. My current computer is an AMD Atholon 2.2gig, 160gig hdd, nvidea geforce 440 , 512 ram and 350 power supply....

Yea, complete garbage, its almost 5 years old. Im going to upgrade, but I want a gaming computer to be able to play America's Army, Battlefield 2142 and games like I wanted to know if this would be appropriate for what im trying to do.

Keep in mind, im trying to be on a pretty low budget, because its almost christmas time :P



Video Card


Hard Drive

CD Drive


Will this all be appropriate, and from what I see its all compatible, if its not let me know. Also how hard is it to put this all together(this is my first system ill build) Is it all plug in, snap in place and stuff like that?


carcus626 is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 06:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
b1gapl's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044

You can get a 7600GT instead. It's better and cheaper: And since you're playing games like BF2142, they're memory hogs. So you might want to go for 2gb ram. It's easy to put a computer together. We can help you whenever you have trouble.



b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 06:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9

I currently have a Compaq AMD atholon 2.2 ghz, 512mb, and a geforce4 mx 440 se, my video card is complete garbage and old. If i was just planning on updating my video card, would this help alot?

I can run Americas Army, but fps is wayyy to low, I top out at 30fps, most maps i only run about 15. I want to hit ATLEAST 40fps, preferably higher. For the price, will it be worth it? With this to upgrade to a Gig of ram, will this work? Will i be running games like this and battlefield well?
carcus626 is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 06:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123

Upgrade the memory before anything.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 09:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9

For gaming??? really?? I have to slots, both filled with Im guessing 256 each. Replace those with two 512's? or replace one with a gig?

Also, in the future, will that card be appropriate?
carcus626 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.