Gaming with My Celeron D - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2006, 02:02 AM   #21 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Defenitly agree with jorsoft03,Since your video couldn't handle it your cpu was trying to make up for it.
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 03:00 PM   #22 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

onboard video processors heat up the motherboard when they heat up. if they're overworked, that heat will eventually affect the other components on the motherboard
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 09:52 AM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to Demortix Send a message via Yahoo to Demortix
Default

Well, not to change the subject to much, but what would be a good upgrade CPU for gaming? from what i understand ill have to upgrade my motherbored as well.

Something i noticed, and im curious about. my Celeron D has a L2 Cache of 256K. i was told this is the main reason why it isnt great for gaming, which i can understand now that i know what it means. However, i was told that AMD Sempron would work way better and it also seems to have 256K cache. ?? does Celeron just not like games??
Demortix is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 12:14 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to kaname
Default

AMD's are generally considered to be better for gaming, it's just they way they're designed. But if you want to switch processors, you're gonna have to switch motherboards if you're new processor has a different socket.

And it's not that the Celeron dosen't like games, the AMD's do more work per clock cycle which helps when the gaming. Check out the AMD vs. Intel stickies. Those have a lot of information that can answer a lot of your questions about the differences between intel and AMD.
__________________
EVGA 680i SLi
E6400 @ 3.0 GHz
4 GB OCZ Platinum Rev. 2 EL @ 880
400GB + 250GB Seagate Barracuda SATA2
EVGA 8800GTs
Antec P180B Case
kaname is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 03:37 PM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shumway
Defenitly agree with jorsoft03,Since your video couldn't handle it your cpu was trying to make up for it.

I would buy a graphics card, but i have no idea what will run better than a chipset....would a MX5500 128MB work fine on older games?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 04:59 PM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

If you want a half decent card don't get anything lower than a fx5500 or a ati 9600,Those should handle older game's fine for now,I used my old 9550se for game's like nfsmw and doom3,It wasn't nothing fancy but atleast i could play fine on low setting's.
Shumway is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 04:59 PM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Yes that will run older games just fine. Most intel integrated chipsets perform slower than a geforce 2 so anything newer than that will be better. A 5500 or better Geforce or similar ATI card should be just fine for older games. Any that you were trying to play specifically (besides NFS)?
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 05:02 PM   #28 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

It would be nice to play RPG's from around 2003, and racing games.

I have no clue which video card would be suitable.


Also, i just checked Toms Hardware, and the top-of-the-line Celeron 2.8 got beat by the Pentium 4 2.00-Ghz in everything. I didnt realize Celeron was so bad
talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 05:04 PM   #29 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
Also, i just checked Toms Hardware, and the top-of-the-line Celeron 2.8 got beat by the Pentium 4 2.00-Ghz in everything. I didnt realize Celeron was so bad

Shumway is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 05:09 PM   #30 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shumway

I'd better upgrade to a P4 2.8Ghz to get more speed.

It's the maximum my MB and PSU will support
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.